Danish Spiced Rye Bread (Sigtebrod) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved this--I loved the flavor, the consistency, everything. Hubs was much less impressed with this recipe. He's not the biggest fan of rye bread though so we'll forgive him. Very distinct flavor in this bread from all the seeds, so if you aren't a fan of them, you may prefer a different bread, or you may prefer to leave out what you don't like. This results in a lovely, somewhat dense and moist loaf. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I've made it about 4-5 times already and am just getting on allrecipes now to make sure I have all the ingredients to make it again today! I love the spiciness of it and I leave the seeds whole in my bread. I cannot rave enough about this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Amazing, tastes just like the rye bread my Grandma used to make. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good, but awfully spicy as written. Nice dessert-type bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
An excellent Christmas bread;I made two loaves today and plan to make two tomorrow! I substituted fennell for anise (just added 2 Tbsp instead of one) and 1 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon for the cardamom. Yummy! The seeds were an odd texture, so next time I may put them in my food processor to chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Wonderful alongside vegetable soup. Moist, sturdy, & rises well. After beginning to mix, I realized I did not have caraway OR anise, but the bread still turned out VERY flavorful with the other spices. My two loaves were ready at about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Even though my molasses expired 4 years ago, the bread was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This bread is unbelievably good! The flavor is off the charts. I couldn't believe I made something this good--it seriously tastes like something you'd order at a bakery. The texture is perfect, and not at all dried out the way whole grain homemade bread sometimes turns out. I don't have a bread machine, so I let it rise 2 hours, separated it into two loaf pans and let it rise another hour. I didn't have the anise or fennel, and I doubled the caraway. I will make this again and again. This is possibly my favorite bread of all time, and I wasn't a fan of rye until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a keeper! I've made this recipe twice and here's my contribution:I used a spice grinder for half the seeds and mortar and pestled the other half. Instead of proofing the yeast in warm water, I used coffee. I mixed a Tablespoon of plain yogurt into the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chatzy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just took a picture of the bread I made using this recipes. I don't use bread mashines, so I mixed every thing up by hand, the bread turned out great. Thank you for the great recipes Mange tak (thanks in danish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chatzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States