Danish Peppernut Christmas Cookies (Pebernodder) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
These cookies are very dry unless you cover them in confectioner's sugar and eat with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
i did what the other poster suggested--no cloves, added white pepper and baking soda, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe is so much easier than the one I have been using for years! They come out just perfect - addictive crunchy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe was bad. It did not resemble my grandmother's at all. It needs brown sugar or someting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Thank you for this recipe! Unfortunately, much of my Scandinavian heritage seems to have gotten lost in the old country, so this was a tasty restoration! I used to live in OR, and though I never got to Scandinavian Fest, this brought back memories of Junction City/Eugene/Willamette Valley! Takk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
While not exactly the same, they're very close to the real thing! I left out the cloves and added about 2g of white pepper as well as about 2 tsp. of baking soda (I don't have measuring spoons, so i used a small teaspoon/eggspoon) as per mobygirl. This was my first time making pebernødder and it certainly won't be my last. I have a VERY picky Danish husband who enthusiastically approved...so much, that he ate 1/2 of the cookies in the first hour of me making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have to agree with mobygirl, they aren't exactly like the real thing. I also notice nobody has mentioned one of the traditional ways they are eaten: dipped or poured in a bowl of sweetened buttermilk (that's the closest way I can describe it). My boyfriend is from Denmark and I'm always looking for recipes to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mobygirl
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm only giving this recipe a 4 because it's missing some of the traditional ingredients. Firstly omit the cloves, we don't use those here in Denmark. Secondly you need to add "white pepper" which is why they are called "pepper nuts". This recipe should use about one quarter of a teaspoon. It also requires 2 teaspoons of baking soda which will make them rise a bit to get the perfect traditional pebernødder shape! Also the correct way to write it without the special character is "Pebernoedder". MERRY CHRISTMAS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mobygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Man, are these yummy! I made them the size of a teaspoon, and baked them for only 7 minutes. I was able to fit 40 on a baking sheet, since they really don't spread much. They're the consistency of a sugar cookie (not gravel, haha!) I didn't have the ground cloves, and didn't miss it, but I think I'll add more cardamom next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have been searching for this recipe for YEARS - I didn't know the name of it, so that slowed me down some! I'm glad to say my search is over. These cookies are FANTASTIC!! A German neighbor made these when I was a kid, and helping her was always a blast. This is definitely a "get together" recipe because the cookies are made so small, it does take a while to roll them all out - but they are so worth it!!! We fill up pretty jars with them and decorate them with ribbons for gifts. They are tasty, like a crunchy, bite-sized gingersnap - I can't tell you how happy I am to have this recipe. My son loves helpig with them and it will definitely become a Christmas tradition in our home to make these! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States