Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was alot of work but well worth it in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I'm a fourteen year old kid and i could fully understand this. They were wonderful. Try using apple butter or strawberry preserves as a filling. It's yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Thank you, thank you for this wonderful technique!!! I'm one of those people who rarely follow a recipe exactly. In fact, this time, I used my own dough recipe but wanted to leave a GLOWING review on how this member explained on adding butter & rolling out the dough to make a real Danish pastry. I've made puff & Danish pastry before but not much as I find it too labour intensive. Placing tiny bits of cold butter on the rolled dough & then folding & rolling, endless number of times got to me. But the idea of mixing some flour with soft butter, rolling it into a thin layer, made cold & then used is BRILLIANT! I laud the person who thought of this. I made my pastry today & am so happy with the results. I used a home-made mix of ground roasted almonds with baked mashed apples, raisins, cinnamon, sugar & some butter as a filling. I dare not make this too often as it tastes so good but is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jujube Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Don't be intimidated by this recipe if you have some experience with baking. It truly makes excellent danish. Here are my modifications: Use your Kitchenaid stand mixer to mix all the ingredients for the butter-less basic dough, then attach the dough hook and knead, adding flour as necessary (about 6-7 minutes of kneading). I did not use all the flour (I was short by about 1 cup as the dough was getting saturated and I did not want it to dry out or become tough). Secondly, remove dough hook, remove dough from bowl, spray inside of bowl with non-stick cooking spray, place ball of dough back in sprayed bowl, and spray top of dough with non-stick cooking spray. Third, cover entire stand mixer with a large plastic bag and allow to rise for about 45-60 minutes (or until dough basically is filling the whole bowl). Those three steps right there take out all the work of kneading by hand. I followed everything else to the letter except: I made an apple filling by peeling 4 large granny smith apples and chopping into very small pieces, adding 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon. I then placed the apple mixture on the stove on medium-high heat, added about 1/3 cup of flour, and allowed apple mixture to cook, stirring frequently, until the apples were soft but still held their shape (about 15-20 minutes of simmering). I then took the apples off the stove and allowed them to sit until I was ready for them. When I was ready to form the pastries, I took one of th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANDABEE
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. I like the simplification of the puff pastry dough method. To begin, I halved the recipe. For filling, I used one large granny smith apple, peeled and thinly sliced, ½ cinnamon, ½ cup sugar, ½ cup brown sugar, 3 tbsp. cornstarch, and ½ cup water. It cooked over low heat until thickened, then pulsed in food processor. I allowed it to cool while I made a cream cheese filling: 1 block cream cheese, 2 tsp. sour cream, 1 tsp. lemon juice, ½ tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. corn starch. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe. Beautiful pastries! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe, though a lot of preparation was needed. After making the dough I rolled it out and cooked apples and sweet cream cheese in the center and then let rise and baked it. I took them to work all of my co-works loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was one of the best danish pastry recipes I have ever tried!! I cut the recipe in half just in case it didn't turn out (hate to waste good ingredients) and did alter it just a little to be honest. I did use a non dairy margerine and water instead of milk but I had to for dietary reasons. I cannot imagine it coming out better though. It was flakey and light not greasy at all. The recipe called for lemon and almond I was a little eh about that so I used vanilla and nutmeg wich is really just a preference. I also gave the dough 2 turns and then left it in the fridge overnight giving it the last turn in the morning before rolling out. This is a sticky dough so please do not add more flour to it as that will make it tough. Instead flour the table or pastry board evenly not neccessarily generously when rolling. use flour to roll as needed but watch how much you use as with any pastry dough. I also like to brush off the excess as I fold the dough over to minimize the addition of flour. This should be a very soft dough. Also I recommend wrapping in parchment paper as opposed to wax paper. It will not stick as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this is a great recipe, but honestly only needed a 1/4 of the dough to make one small round coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I thought that this was a great base to work off of. I made strawberry and stawberry-cheese danish, and they turned out to be wonderful and tender. The only suggestion I have is to make sure you start with small portions of dough when you are making something because when it rises and bakes, it grows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverdam, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good!! 4+ labor intensive but worth the effort. The trick of mixing the butter with flour and rolling out between waxed paper is sheer genius. Gives much better butter distribution than the traditional way of putting hundreds of little pieces of butter on the dough and rolling. This makes it foolproof. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Tesson Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States