Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I am not going to leave this at a two star, although I followed it word for word, it came out dry, dull and tasteless. It was a LOT of work for the result that I got I was very unhappy. That being said, I am NOT a novice baker, and as such I know that sometimes one ingredient being not at the top of its game can have a bad effect on the finished product. I will try this again and re rate it. The fault here may by my own. Fresh flour and yeast might change the outcome. The directions were very good, and I am pretty sure the problem was something I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I made this and filled with homemade almond paste for bear claws. Also filled with a cheesecake mixture and strawberry and blueberry preserves. People said they were better than any store bought pastry. Admittedly I am a advanced pastry chef, but I dont think this is a difficult recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srigsby2
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Walking around my apartment with my chest puffed out now. I just made a DANISH PASTRY! Do NOT be intimidated by this recipe. While it does require time, the actual hands-on time is rather small because you have to be quick when you're handling the dough and butter for the turning/folding parts. Mixing/kneading takes the usual 10 or so minutes, after that you work the dough for less than 5 minutes at a time, then it goes to the fridge for a half-hour. Do laundry while the dough rests. I halved the recipe, and only used 1/4 of my dough for my first batch (made 6 cream cheese danishes). I understood the directions well enough but I was apprehensive, so I watched some "Baking with Julia" videos over at PBS. There are at least 3 very good videos on danishes, puff pastries, and croissants which use similar (though cold-butter) methods that provide a good visual for technique. Good that I did because the creaming method wasn't working very well for me (too creamy), so I froze my butter batch for about 20 minutes then beat it into a flat rectangular sheet. Only hiccup, but there's always more than one way to skin a cat... Give this recipe a go. If it doesn't turn out perfect you'll still feel like you learned something. And I am sooo going to adapt this for some savory puff pastry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I halved the recipe, since it was my first attempt.... and actually made the dough in my food processor. made half of that into 9 croissants and the other half I made 8 danishes with raspberry preserves and glaze... The croissants are quite good, but the danishes hit the "to die for" mark. My only goal now has become to make sure I do not eat them all before I can serve them. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The only problem I had was, after rolling a few out, I got to rolling them much closer to the thickness of store-bought pastry sheets. Those hardly rose at all. The ones I rolled to 1/4" (as instructed) were light, airy fluff bags. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Needed much less flour! But definitely worth the upper body workout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very tasty. Made apple struedle and turnovers. I did add 1 tsp cardoman to thedry ingredients as well as zest from 2 lemons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Haven't tried this recipe yet, but if anyone sees this review can you tell me if you can refrigerate this overnight? thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I did have some concerns when the butter started leaking out while I was rolling it out, but after a few folds everything turned out great, and I filled half with jam and half with pastry cream and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Takes time, but is well worth it! Delicious, light, and wonderful tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States