Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I found the instructions to be inadequate to the task. Admittedly, I am not an expert baker but even so, I didn't understand what I needed to do until I watched a video on YouTube. The butter squished out of the dough when I tried to roll it out and created a giant mess, despite returning it to the refrigerator repeatedly in an effort to keep it cold. Overall, I would never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Wonderful, flaky pastry. I used it to make my own version of a "butter braid". My family loved it. As others have said, the recipe is involved, but I was able to get 4 large braids out of it. I baked one immediately, freezing three and all were delicious and rose nicely. I only altered the amount of almond extract to 1/4 the amount as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rita
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is a super recipe! I had a little over a cup of flour left over that was not needed, my dough was great and easy to work with. I also didn't have active dry yeast on hand, I only had instant yeast, so I used a little more then 3 1/2 teaspoons and they turned out perfect. Made some with Strawberry Preserve, and some with Confectioner's Custard and some with chocolate chips, then drizzled them all with confectioners' sugar and water. I will be making this recipe again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I arbitrarily decided yesterday that I wanted to serve pineapple danish for this morning. I had the frozen pineapple to make a filling, just wasn't sure on the pastry. This is definitely a more sophisticated recipe then many but it works well and is scalable. I used about a quarter of most ingredients and used one envelope of dry yeast. Worked like a charm. Wife loved the result. If you haven't been successful with this, print out the recipe and read it carefully. Slow down. Chill the dough a bit longer. Don't forget to roll the dough out and fold it extra times. On your final roll make sure you get it down to 1/4 inch. Don't forget the rise after you fill the pastry. It will double - it really will especially if you set it on the stove with the oven on (or recently on). Good luck and good pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was really delicious, and the instructions were very clear. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
simple to follow instructions! and so light and fluffy wow. ty cindy this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This Recipe was SOOOO much FUN to make! The only thing was that when i started i discovered i didn't have any plastic wrap. :( so i took a plastic wlamart bag and used that. it worked GREAT! Thank you Allrecipes for a WONDERFUL site! i use it all the time!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMARSHNY
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. It is a time consuming, but the finish product is wonderful. I will make it over and over again as my family loved it. The idea of creaming the softened butter with the flour and then folding it into the dough was a great tip. I used my large kitchen aid mixer to do the kneading. I tried several different folding techniques. The dough is easy to work with. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good!! 4+ labor intensive but worth the effort. The trick of mixing the butter with flour and rolling out between waxed paper is sheer genius. Gives much better butter distribution than the traditional way of putting hundreds of little pieces of butter on the dough and rolling. This makes it foolproof. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Tesson Curtis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The recipe came out great, but I couldn't get the dough to stick to itself. I folded and pinched, tried to use water, tried to press really hard, but my shapes still opened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States