Danish Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I did have some concerns when the butter started leaking out while I was rolling it out, but after a few folds everything turned out great, and I filled half with jam and half with pastry cream and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Takes time, but is well worth it! Delicious, light, and wonderful tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
First time trying it and it was great. You can freeze the dough and use only what is needed at the time. I have now adjusted to half servings when planning it for the weekend treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna Young
Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a great recipe, but alot of work. I took one reviewer's suggestion and did steps 1-3 one day and the rest the next day. I brushed a combination of brown sugar, cinnamon and softened butter on dough before cutting into strips. Found the recipe on Crumb Boss website. I drizzled a vanilla glaze on danish. They were a big hit. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband said these were the best danish he'd ever had! Lots of steps, but worth it. Makes a wonderful, flaky pastry. I filled mine with cream cheese. I used vanilla extract because I was out of almond and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I finally made Danishes after years of wanting to but too afraid to take the plunge! I'm happy to say that my fears were unfounded. These rose beautifully in the oven, were light and fluffy, and tasted great. However, I did run into a couple of problems, which I will chalk up to inexperience. First, I couldn't get the dough to stay in the shapes that I *tried* to form. Second, the bottoms of the first batch burnt, while the tops were just barely done. I lowered the temp. to 425F for the next pan but the bottoms still began to darken before the tops were baked through, so I switched to "broil" for the last little bit, which worked well. My oven tends to run very hot so next time I will either bake them on a higher rack at 425F or lower the temp. all the way down to 400F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
these made beautiful danish i put nutmeg in it and it paired amazingly with apples. I squirted simple syrup on them at the end of bake time and put them in the oven for one more minute. They are better than most danish. Alot of people pull frozen ones out of boxes. A factory danish is no competition for a real baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
What a fantastic recipe. Exactly what I was looking for. My only mistake was not sandwiching my butter sheets between two separate sheets of wax paper. I made a tower of wax/butter/wax/butter/wax. Needless to say, it was nearly impossible to peel easily. Still won and got the butter off, but not in one solid plank. Now I know for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I will admit it is a bit labor intensive, but a fantastic recipe! I have made it with out the lemon and almond extract and it is still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States