Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've been making it for well over 25 years but haven't added the nutmeg, will do that now. The only things I do different is use margarine/butter in place of the shortening and take corn flakes, put them into a one cup measuring cup, crush them down with my hand until I have a cup, then sprinkle on the bottom crust before putting the apples (I use macintosh or cortland) on the crust. It catches and absorbs the apple juices and no one would ever guess the bars contain cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe is also called "Apple Slices". That is what my Danish grandmother called them. It's the egg yolk in the dough that makes it different from pie dough. We like this dough much better than pie crust. My mother brought it to every family gathering. When cool, drizzle with glaze made from confectioner's sugar and lemon juice. No water or milk! That also is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe was very good. My only suggestions are to increase the sugar if you are using Granny Smith apples. I always use those in baking b/c they don't get mushy but this recipe turned out quite tart. Also, moisten some waxed paper to stick to your counter then lightly flour it and roll out the dough. This way you can just lift the wax paper, turn it over and peel it off your crust instead of trying to get the crust off of your counter in one piece. I do recommend the lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze as another suggested, be sure to taste for sweetness before drizzling. I found this recipe is easily halved for a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia K.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
FANTASTIC Apple Pie recipe! No brown sugar? Use white sugar, and drizzle a little honey inbetween apple layers. White sugar or honey doesn't hinder the taste, and the honey adds a special flavor. Don't be scared to add a couple extra teaspoons of cinnamon, it only makes it better. The thickness of your apple slices determines the texture of the filling: extra-thin (1 cm) slices for soft filling (almost apple-saucey), and thin (3 cm) slices for chunky apple pie. The fact this pie was in a 9x13 and not in a round pan was PERFECT for my situation - Im in Europe right now, and wanted to share a traditional American recipe, but didnt have a round pan for it! This recipe was the solution, and was a fantastic treat at that. I've made it three times already! And the crust recipe is absolutely wonderful, I've used it for quiches as well. Because this recipe has top and bottom crust, you'll have to alter it a little: Just cut the amount of the ingredients for the dough in half, and there you have a bottom crust for a perfect homemade quiche. (Just say no to ready-made pie forms!) Recommended: 'Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche ' Note for dough: Keep dough cold!! Easier to work with, and best on a cold marble counter top. Put the second half in the fridge when youre working with the first half. Use your fingers to cut in the shortening, it works the best. And don't stop before its finished, it needs about 3-5 minutes, until its really thoroughly cut in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe was a big hit with my family! The crust was to die for, it was so easy and quick to make. I used an apple peeler corer all in one to slice up the apples, this saved a lot of time. When the bars were still warm I poured a glaze on them that was powder sugar, butter, milk and a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My family and I love this recipe and so did everyone who has had it. Other than the logistics of manuevering the dough into a 9x13 I found the dough itself to be easy to work with. What dough isn't a pain to get into any pan perfectly? I made sure that both layers of dough were over-lapping the pan and then I just pinched and tucked it under itself. Any excess I cut away, rolled out and used a leaf or apple shaped cookie cutter and laid them on top for decoration. The 9x13 size makes it easy for family functions because you only have on pie to carry versus 2-3 individual pies. We love and I make it frequently. I think I'll make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Excellent recipe, easy to make and dough is easy to handle. I added one tablespoon corn starch to sugar mixture as a thickener. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I was always afraid of making an Apple Pie. No longer! This recipe was easy and everyone in my family raved. The crust alone is to die for, as it will go with any pie you like. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Yummm! My picky eater asked for seconds! Used heavy cream in place of milk for pastry, rolled between plastic wrap for easy handling. Will sprinkle top crust with white sugar next time.10 apples? what size? Used 8 cups thinly sliced Washington Gravestines,fresh off the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I've always have great success with this recipe. The crust is especially something special (if you use butter instead of shortening). It makes a perfect amount for a traditional double pie crust with embellishments. To make prep a snap I put the flour and salt in my 11-cup food processor. I cut the butter into tablespoons then toss all of it into the processor bowl and turn it on until it resembles wet beach sand. Then I put it in a bowl and add the milk/yolk mixture and kneed it together with my hands. After chilling it rolls like a dream. I've used it for all my pies for years. Thanks Nancy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States