Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good crust,I have used other fruits and have drizzled frosting over the top. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Anyone use butter instead of 'shortening'?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I really liked this, although I have a sweet tooth and would have liked more sugar. The crust was delicious! I'm definitely saving the crust recipe to use all the time (pies, quiches, etc). It's funny that they are called "Danish Pastry Apple Bars." All it is, in my mind, is Apple Pie, just baked in a casserole dish. It tastes exactly like apple pie. I added some golden raisins and walnuts, but I don't think they added much. I'll stick to the recipe next time. Next time, I'll do the same things, but just bake it in a pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent!. My husband, the apple pie snob, raved about it and I'm having a hard time not having a second piece. I used only 7 apples, because that's all I had and I kept the sugar and the spices the same, but I added two tablespoons of flour so I wouldn't be so runny and a quarter teaspoon of ground ginger, I also layered the top of the apples with chopped walnuts before adding the crust. I personally didn't have any problems whatsoever with the crust, in fact, I find it easier to work with than the classic pie crust. It also looks beautiful with the egg wash. It's not really fall until you bake your first apple dessert, isn't it?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Would have given this ***** stars, but for the degree of difficulty rolling the crust (floured, chilled, & between wax paper) still had issues. I added the cereal to the bottom crust and upped white sugar by 1/4 c. (personal preference) Even w/ my problems my guests were WOWED! Will make in the future, but will use a large tart pan w/ removable bottom. Thanks for another good apple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe!! I made it exactly as given. The only thing I would change would be to add a little cornstarch to the apple mixture to thicken it up. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Absolutely the best apple dessert ever. The crust was really easy to work with, my daughter did most of it herself. Needless to say there were many holes which were easily mended. And when baked the crust was delectable, light and delicious. Better than most pie crusts I have ever tasted. The filling was also very delicious, I would recommend not using granny smith apples, as I did. They were a little too tart. Overall, I would Highly recommend this to anyone who loves really good apple pie without the hassle. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This tasted much better than I thought it would. Was easy to make and not too sweet, just right! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
this recipe is perfect and easy. I had to add a little more flour to the dough, but I think it was an error I made, and not the recipe. Overall, definately a great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I can't do pastry well but this is the best. It's like a pie you can cut like a cake. The crust was great and my family loved it. Hands down it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States