Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I have never rated a recipe with 1 star before, but I don't think this one deserves more than that. First, the dough was a gloppy mess after adding the egg/milk mixture, so I had to add more and more flour to even get it to roll-out consistency. Second, this calls for 10 apples - WAY too many for a 9x13 pan and the little amount of sugar it calls for. I would say it only needs half the amount of apples (I used Braeburn). Which brings me to the sugar - too little for all the fruit. AND this definitely needs some cornstarch or something in the filling to thicken it up. I was horrified that after baking time I pulled it out of the oven to see that there was boiling apple juice around the sides as that makes a soggy bottom crust. So I had to hold the pan over the sink and tilt it to run all the liquid out and at least a cup of it came out. THEN I was trying to cut and remove the bars (I made them as part of an order from my home baking business for a graduation party today) and it was a nightmare - the crust was slipping off the apples, all the apples were falling out of the center and not staying together, etc. If I had time to make something else and chuck this entire batch I would. It's basically like an apple pie, except the crust is tasteless and the filling not very desireable either. Sorry, will not make again or recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hurt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
FABULOUS!!! Perfect, thin and crisp pastry! I made a 9x13 and an 8" cake plate since my mom always made this in a cookie sheet. Its a little thinner then - more like a bar or streudal than pie. I halved the sugar - it was very good for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was INCREDIBLE!!! Wow!! I will be putting this with my favorite recipes!!!! Go exactly by recipe and YOU WILL LOVE THIS!!!! The crust is great..the filling perfect seasoned...THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love these! so good! I add more spices and more apples and more sugar.. num! only part I hate is rolling out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was an awesome apple recipe. Not too sweet either, you could really taste the apples. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been on this site for a long time and this is the first time I had to rate a recipe. This recipe is excellent. Someone gave me a case of apples and I had to find something to do with them. This was a fantastic reciepe. My family and co-workers loved them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I just tried this recipe and absolutely loved it! My husband says it is his new favorite thing I have baked. My only problem was that my dough came out a little sticky so I had to add a little extra flour to it. Otherwise...perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Wow. Can't count how many times I've made this recipe. My family loves it. I use only butter, I add a 1/4 cup more brown sugar & almost double the apples, sliced very, very thin. Great Recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So yummy! The dough is superior to any other. Also, it is very simple to make. I did not use shortening, but substituted I can't believe its not butter, and the results were marvelous. It was tricky to get the dough into the pan intact; I rolled the dough out on wax paper and this allowed a fairly smooth transfer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Love pie and love bars. So whats not to love here? Did use half butter and half shortening for crust to maintain flakiness and boost flavor. Also used fairly sweet winesap apples, so cut out the addition of the brown sugar. piped a simple glaze of powdered sugar and milk on top. Made glaze fairly thick and piped it onto bars while still warm and in diagonal lines. Maybe next time I'll add little pieces of butter to the filling and extra cinnamon for more flavor and instead of making glaze with milk, use a little vanilla and apple cider. I like lots of flavor. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States