Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this first following the recipe (except that I used butter in the crust), and it was good. I made it a second time using blueberries instead of apples, and again, it was good! I love the crust--it is so easy to handle even rolled thin for my 11x15 pan, though I did of course roll it out on waxed paper. I wonder what I'll put in it next?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Simply awesome! Best apple dessert of the season. I made the recipe as directed but portioned it into two pans to create thinner bars, then drizzled with glaze. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love apple pie so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. It wasnt bad, but I was disappointed. For all the work I put into this, I could have just baked an apple pie, and my applie pie recipe definately tastes a lot better than these pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I've always have great success with this recipe. The crust is especially something special (if you use butter instead of shortening). It makes a perfect amount for a traditional double pie crust with embellishments. To make prep a snap I put the flour and salt in my 11-cup food processor. I cut the butter into tablespoons then toss all of it into the processor bowl and turn it on until it resembles wet beach sand. Then I put it in a bowl and add the milk/yolk mixture and kneed it together with my hands. After chilling it rolls like a dream. I've used it for all my pies for years. Thanks Nancy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a really simple and delicious dish! My kids loved it and I will make it again. I made it just has directed. Only thing I would say in the instructions is to place it in the pan like a pie crust with the bottom crust going up the sides. I just laid it on the bottom and then realized I had to seal it to the top crust. I had to dig for my edges. It was still fantastic! Thanks Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was so good! We served it with vanilla ice cream, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I lined my pan with foil to make it easier to remove, I used Granny Smith apples, added 1 tbsp flour and doubled the cinnamon, these were a big hit! I have started using my food processor to make the dough and it makes it so easy. I halve the recipe for a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My apple bars turned out fabulious! I didn't have any granny smith apples, and just used a mix of apples that I had in my refrigerater. I was very impressed. The only think I added was a powder sugar glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! The crust on this is fabulous, melt in your mouth type. I used butter in the crust and more apples than stated because they cook down so much. When mixing the apples with the sugar I also added some flour for thickening. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy! I added some flour to the apple filling and more spices then it called for, and made the dough by adding milk a little at a time untill it was the right amount of moisture instead of just dumping it all in, but other then that, went as the recipe said and it came out wonderfully. I didn't add any glaze to the top, but did brush the top with some of the liquid from the apples before the end of baking and sprinkled with suger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat D ~ Dreamkat29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States