Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was so good! We served it with vanilla ice cream, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I lined my pan with foil to make it easier to remove, I used Granny Smith apples, added 1 tbsp flour and doubled the cinnamon, these were a big hit! I have started using my food processor to make the dough and it makes it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My apple bars turned out fabulious! I didn't have any granny smith apples, and just used a mix of apples that I had in my refrigerater. I was very impressed. The only think I added was a powder sugar glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! The crust on this is fabulous, melt in your mouth type. I used butter in the crust and more apples than stated because they cook down so much. When mixing the apples with the sugar I also added some flour for thickening. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yummy! I added some flour to the apple filling and more spices then it called for, and made the dough by adding milk a little at a time untill it was the right amount of moisture instead of just dumping it all in, but other then that, went as the recipe said and it came out wonderfully. I didn't add any glaze to the top, but did brush the top with some of the liquid from the apples before the end of baking and sprinkled with suger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat D ~ Dreamkat29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I have never rated a recipe with 1 star before, but I don't think this one deserves more than that. First, the dough was a gloppy mess after adding the egg/milk mixture, so I had to add more and more flour to even get it to roll-out consistency. Second, this calls for 10 apples - WAY too many for a 9x13 pan and the little amount of sugar it calls for. I would say it only needs half the amount of apples (I used Braeburn). Which brings me to the sugar - too little for all the fruit. AND this definitely needs some cornstarch or something in the filling to thicken it up. I was horrified that after baking time I pulled it out of the oven to see that there was boiling apple juice around the sides as that makes a soggy bottom crust. So I had to hold the pan over the sink and tilt it to run all the liquid out and at least a cup of it came out. THEN I was trying to cut and remove the bars (I made them as part of an order from my home baking business for a graduation party today) and it was a nightmare - the crust was slipping off the apples, all the apples were falling out of the center and not staying together, etc. If I had time to make something else and chuck this entire batch I would. It's basically like an apple pie, except the crust is tasteless and the filling not very desireable either. Sorry, will not make again or recommend to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
FABULOUS!!! Perfect, thin and crisp pastry! I made a 9x13 and an 8" cake plate since my mom always made this in a cookie sheet. Its a little thinner then - more like a bar or streudal than pie. I halved the sugar - it was very good for breakfast the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was INCREDIBLE!!! Wow!! I will be putting this with my favorite recipes!!!! Go exactly by recipe and YOU WILL LOVE THIS!!!! The crust is great..the filling perfect seasoned...THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love these! so good! I add more spices and more apples and more sugar.. num! only part I hate is rolling out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was an awesome apple recipe. Not too sweet either, you could really taste the apples. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States