Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Don't understand why some had problems with this crust. It was by far the easiest I have ever worked with. Cannot wait for my husband to get home to see his treat tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not as good as the other apple pie bar recipe I make. This just wasn't that good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this recipe, it is great. Would recommend it to anyone. Try it it is a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
WOW. My son said "this is EPIC". The only thing is that 5 pink lady apples is more than enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anect

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Love this recipe, REALLY love the pastry. I'll use this crust recipe again and again for other fillings. I used 1/2 shortening (for flakiness) and 1/2 butter (for flavor). Best of both worlds! Dough was a little wet, next time might use a little less of the liquid. Rolled out dough on floured waxed paper which makes it easier to lift and flip into the pan. I prefer recipes which measure fruit in cups, not whole. The size of your fruit can make a huge difference. Used about 7-8 apples (lost count). 1/2 Granny Smith (for tartness) and 1/2 Royal Gala (which fall apart a little and become creamy). Again, best of both worlds. Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup of each (personal preference). Did not add any cornstarch and didn't need any - once cooled the juices thickened up on their own. Baked for about 60 minutes and glazed cooled pastry with icing sugar and milk glaze. Not too sweet, not too sour, flaky crust, perfect amount of apples. Winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I altered the recipe using peaches instead of apples. Since peaches are juicier than apples I added 2 TBSP corn starch with the sugars. The fruit squares were popular at our overed dish dinner at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I just made this recipe and it's great. The only thing I did differently was cut the amount of apples only because I didn't have ten and just used what I had on hand which was about 5 or 6 Granny Smiths and then I sprinkled the top crust with sugar, brown sugar and cinnamon just for a little something extra. It's a cross between an apple pie and an apple turnover. Make sure you use a heavily floured surface to roll out the dough and if it sticks any, as you're rolling it onto your rolling pin for transfer to the baking dish, just use a pastry scraper to loosen from the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Did not enjoy at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I believe the proportions are off. I used 6 instead of 10 large granny smith apples. They are tart and they keep their shape when baked. Also, I had enough dough to make 2. I made them each about 10 inches round I placed them on cookie sheets instead of a rectangular 9X13. They turned out flaky and golden brown. Also, I whisked together a little milk and powdered sugar for a glaze to drizzle over the top. Will definately make this again. Yum! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewen, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I was in a hurry and didn't read the reviews, so I made it exactly as it is written. That said, it is way too tart for my taste. I used Granny Smith apples, and I should have used about 1/4 each more of sugars. I will probably make a powdered sugar glaze to make it a little sweeter so my husband will eat it. I didn't have a problem with it being runny, but my apples were pretty dry when I started. It's pretty much about the same amount of work as regular apple pie, so I will probably just make apple pie next time. It was good to try something new though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States