Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This recipe tasted great. It was not overly sweet. I do not suggest adding sugar to the crust at all, but I do not prefer sweet things. The only problem I had was the amount of apples, and the amount of liquid that accompanied them. I'm definitely going to use this recipe again; however, I will add some cornstarch next time, and I will probably only use about six apples. Thanks for a quick, and easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I wowed the members of my meeting today when I brought in these bars. Totally easy to make. Did as a couple of others recommended - used my food processor for the pastry. Added the egg/milk mix in quick pulses to avoid over-beating. The dough was a little wet in parts but I just sprinkled extra flour on it - no big deal. I rolled the dough out on waxed paper that I had laid over a glass cutting board. (Putting a splash of water between the board and the paper eliminates any shift while rolling out the pastry). When it was the right size/shape, I placed the baking tray (a jelly roll pan) over the pastry & flipped the whole lot (glass cutting board, pastry & bake tray) - just had to peel off the wax paper - really easy. I agree that the size of apple can vary hugely so why not just say "10 cups or about 10 apples". In my case, I used large Honey Crisp and only needed 8 to give 10 c. I thought the amount of sugar called for was perfect. I cooked the apple mixture in a saucepan for about 10 minutes on low heat to soften them a bit. Baking time was right on. Finally, after baking and cooling, I drizzled on an icing of Confectioners sugar & milk, just for presentation. The taste of the apples really come through,I will be making this again for sure. Thanks to poster Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I agree with other reviewers: the pastry dough is certainly good, it resembles puff pastry without the trouble and bother. It deserves to be exported from this recipe and used in other pie recipes and is the reason of my 5 stars rating. That said, the apple/sugar/cinnamon part is easy enough and always the same as in countless apple pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
yummy, my apples were super juicy so I baked a bit longer than called for which created a hard bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have made this exact recipe for years, except I do use half butter and half shortening. I've always baked it in a jelly roll pan. It is a little tricky rolling and stretching the dough to fit, but we like it this way and it makes more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
made this on Dec. 17, 2013 I have been looking for a recipe like this one. My grandma used to make apple kuchen just like this. I will drizzle some powder sugar frosting on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe and LOVED it! I am no brilliant baker or anything close but this apple dessert was DELISH and extremely easy to make! My whole family was over the moon with the results. They came back from vacation to this in the fridge and everyone thought it was store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlsloveoutlaws

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Don't understand why some had problems with this crust. It was by far the easiest I have ever worked with. Cannot wait for my husband to get home to see his treat tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not as good as the other apple pie bar recipe I make. This just wasn't that good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this recipe, it is great. Would recommend it to anyone. Try it it is a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States