Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Normally we have just a regular, round apple pie but it isn't enough for a larger crowd so I tried this recipe. My family loves it; husband likes it better than my pie and my son called it 'to die for'. Very good although you have to guess on how many apples and whether to thicken or not. Turns out great no matter how you do it. Thank you for a new keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Great recipe! Can use any time of the year, and great recipe for kids to help with- my 6yr old daughter loved making it and rolling on the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michell Hampton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
My husband said this was one of the most awesome desserts he has EVER eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
the dough was pretty hard to spread, and before cooked, it was stretched very thin, although it did poof up after being cooked. The top layer I had a hard time fitting. It wasn't too sweet, next time I would add more sugar, or get sweeter apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
You may never bake a round pie again!Not only is this delicious but you dont have to worry about the edges getting too dark as a round pie and it feeds more people.I was out of brown suger so I used all white but drizzled molasses and some honey before mixing apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEYSOLA

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I am not much of a baker, so I attempted anyways.... and to my suprise, it was easy, yummy and it didnt burn!! Even rolling the dough wasn't so bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This has become a family favorite. I do a lot of baking and this crust, alone, is fabulous and has become my standard pie crust for any fruit pie. I use Granny Smith for all my apple recipes and have increased the white sugar here due to the tartness of the apples, otherwise, don't change a thing. Thanks, Nancy, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Excellent recipe, easy to make and dough is easy to handle. I added one tablespoon corn starch to sugar mixture as a thickener. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe was very good. My only suggestions are to increase the sugar if you are using Granny Smith apples. I always use those in baking b/c they don't get mushy but this recipe turned out quite tart. Also, moisten some waxed paper to stick to your counter then lightly flour it and roll out the dough. This way you can just lift the wax paper, turn it over and peel it off your crust instead of trying to get the crust off of your counter in one piece. I do recommend the lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze as another suggested, be sure to taste for sweetness before drizzling. I found this recipe is easily halved for a smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe was a big hit with my family! The crust was to die for, it was so easy and quick to make. I used an apple peeler corer all in one to slice up the apples, this saved a lot of time. When the bars were still warm I poured a glaze on them that was powder sugar, butter, milk and a little vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States