Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very tasty. The crust was very flaky. I don't know that I would call these bars though, but this is a very good alternative to apple pie. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
The crust was crispy. Love the crust but the apple was alittle sour although i follow the recipe. Maybe I should add more sugar to it. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My family and I love this recipe and so did everyone who has had it. Other than the logistics of manuevering the dough into a 9x13 I found the dough itself to be easy to work with. What dough isn't a pain to get into any pan perfectly? I made sure that both layers of dough were over-lapping the pan and then I just pinched and tucked it under itself. Any excess I cut away, rolled out and used a leaf or apple shaped cookie cutter and laid them on top for decoration. The 9x13 size makes it easy for family functions because you only have on pie to carry versus 2-3 individual pies. We love and I make it frequently. I think I'll make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Very good. As did others, I had trouble working with the dough. My solution is to roll it out a bit then smoosh half the dough into the bottom of the pan, add the filling, and then place the rest of the flattened dough in pieces on top. It leaves a lot of "cracks" but I choose to view it as a more "rustic" look. Besides, this tastes so good, we're too busy gobbling it up to worry about how it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
The first time I made this I had a really hard time with the dough. The second time I wrapped the very wet dough in wax paper and refridgerated it for about an hour and it rolled out much better. Also, make sure you use a crisp apple otherwise it tends to be a little mushy. I also used an almond glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I was a bit overzealous and purchased a 1/2 bushel of apples this recipe was great using half of that. It's easy, tasty and basically 2 pies in one pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've been making it for well over 25 years but haven't added the nutmeg, will do that now. The only things I do different is use margarine/butter in place of the shortening and take corn flakes, put them into a one cup measuring cup, crush them down with my hand until I have a cup, then sprinkle on the bottom crust before putting the apples (I use macintosh or cortland) on the crust. It catches and absorbs the apple juices and no one would ever guess the bars contain cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I added more cinnamon (I am addicted to it) and an egg to the filling to make it thicker. Over all a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenettiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I'm rating this 4 stars only because I found the crust difficult to work with. I think the end result would have been better if I had been able to roll it thinner. I think next time I will place the crust dough in the refrigerator for an hour before rolling out. Despite the crust being a little thicker than I would have liked the end product was very tasty and looked beautiful. I used 6 gala apples and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Julia K.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
FANTASTIC Apple Pie recipe! No brown sugar? Use white sugar, and drizzle a little honey inbetween apple layers. White sugar or honey doesn't hinder the taste, and the honey adds a special flavor. Don't be scared to add a couple extra teaspoons of cinnamon, it only makes it better. The thickness of your apple slices determines the texture of the filling: extra-thin (1 cm) slices for soft filling (almost apple-saucey), and thin (3 cm) slices for chunky apple pie. The fact this pie was in a 9x13 and not in a round pan was PERFECT for my situation - Im in Europe right now, and wanted to share a traditional American recipe, but didnt have a round pan for it! This recipe was the solution, and was a fantastic treat at that. I've made it three times already! And the crust recipe is absolutely wonderful, I've used it for quiches as well. Because this recipe has top and bottom crust, you'll have to alter it a little: Just cut the amount of the ingredients for the dough in half, and there you have a bottom crust for a perfect homemade quiche. (Just say no to ready-made pie forms!) Recommended: 'Belle and Chron's Spinach and Mushroom Quiche ' Note for dough: Keep dough cold!! Easier to work with, and best on a cold marble counter top. Put the second half in the fridge when youre working with the first half. Use your fingers to cut in the shortening, it works the best. And don't stop before its finished, it needs about 3-5 minutes, until its really thoroughly cut in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Erfurt, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States