Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
great crust recipe. the apple mix may need a bit of flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
wonderful recipe- really easy and really good. The crust is amazingly easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was pretty yummy! I actually thought it was a little bland at first, but the next day it tasted even better. I did like another reviewer did and instead of rolling out the dough, I just patted the dough in the bottom of the pan, layered the apples, then put the rest of the dough in pieces over the top. I also crushed some cornflakes and put them on top of the dough before putting the apples on, and I did the apples first and then let them sit while I made the dough, and poured the syrup that was in the apple bowl over the apples before putting the dough on top. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the top (next time I will dab some butter on top as well) and into the oven it went! Definitely better warmed up the next day with some ice cream and caramel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very tasty. The crust was very flaky. I don't know that I would call these bars though, but this is a very good alternative to apple pie. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
The crust was crispy. Love the crust but the apple was alittle sour although i follow the recipe. Maybe I should add more sugar to it. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My family and I love this recipe and so did everyone who has had it. Other than the logistics of manuevering the dough into a 9x13 I found the dough itself to be easy to work with. What dough isn't a pain to get into any pan perfectly? I made sure that both layers of dough were over-lapping the pan and then I just pinched and tucked it under itself. Any excess I cut away, rolled out and used a leaf or apple shaped cookie cutter and laid them on top for decoration. The 9x13 size makes it easy for family functions because you only have on pie to carry versus 2-3 individual pies. We love and I make it frequently. I think I'll make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Very good. As did others, I had trouble working with the dough. My solution is to roll it out a bit then smoosh half the dough into the bottom of the pan, add the filling, and then place the rest of the flattened dough in pieces on top. It leaves a lot of "cracks" but I choose to view it as a more "rustic" look. Besides, this tastes so good, we're too busy gobbling it up to worry about how it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
The first time I made this I had a really hard time with the dough. The second time I wrapped the very wet dough in wax paper and refridgerated it for about an hour and it rolled out much better. Also, make sure you use a crisp apple otherwise it tends to be a little mushy. I also used an almond glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I was a bit overzealous and purchased a 1/2 bushel of apples this recipe was great using half of that. It's easy, tasty and basically 2 pies in one pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've been making it for well over 25 years but haven't added the nutmeg, will do that now. The only things I do different is use margarine/butter in place of the shortening and take corn flakes, put them into a one cup measuring cup, crush them down with my hand until I have a cup, then sprinkle on the bottom crust before putting the apples (I use macintosh or cortland) on the crust. It catches and absorbs the apple juices and no one would ever guess the bars contain cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States