Danish Pastry Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I agree with other reviewers: the pastry dough is certainly good, it resembles puff pastry without the trouble and bother. It deserves to be exported from this recipe and used in other pie recipes and is the reason of my 5 stars rating. That said, the apple/sugar/cinnamon part is easy enough and always the same as in countless apple pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
yummy, my apples were super juicy so I baked a bit longer than called for which created a hard bottom crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have made this exact recipe for years, except I do use half butter and half shortening. I've always baked it in a jelly roll pan. It is a little tricky rolling and stretching the dough to fit, but we like it this way and it makes more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
made this on Dec. 17, 2013 I have been looking for a recipe like this one. My grandma used to make apple kuchen just like this. I will drizzle some powder sugar frosting on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe and LOVED it! I am no brilliant baker or anything close but this apple dessert was DELISH and extremely easy to make! My whole family was over the moon with the results. They came back from vacation to this in the fridge and everyone thought it was store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlsloveoutlaws

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Don't understand why some had problems with this crust. It was by far the easiest I have ever worked with. Cannot wait for my husband to get home to see his treat tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not as good as the other apple pie bar recipe I make. This just wasn't that good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this recipe, it is great. Would recommend it to anyone. Try it it is a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
WOW. My son said "this is EPIC". The only thing is that 5 pink lady apples is more than enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anect

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Love this recipe, REALLY love the pastry. I'll use this crust recipe again and again for other fillings. I used 1/2 shortening (for flakiness) and 1/2 butter (for flavor). Best of both worlds! Dough was a little wet, next time might use a little less of the liquid. Rolled out dough on floured waxed paper which makes it easier to lift and flip into the pan. I prefer recipes which measure fruit in cups, not whole. The size of your fruit can make a huge difference. Used about 7-8 apples (lost count). 1/2 Granny Smith (for tartness) and 1/2 Royal Gala (which fall apart a little and become creamy). Again, best of both worlds. Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup of each (personal preference). Did not add any cornstarch and didn't need any - once cooled the juices thickened up on their own. Baked for about 60 minutes and glazed cooled pastry with icing sugar and milk glaze. Not too sweet, not too sour, flaky crust, perfect amount of apples. Winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States