Danish Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I loved them! OMGosh these are so yummy! I agree with another reviewer, these do take like something similar to a pecan sandie (russian tea cake cookies). I didn't roll w/ confectioners, didn't need them. I used old-fashioned oats and also only had about 1/2 cup pecans so used about 1/4-1/3 cup of ground flax seed to add more nutty flavor. SOOOOOooo yummy especially the dough! ( I think I ate like half the batch, oops! :) The only things is that they ARE very tender and crumbly, almost dry. I will try to make smaller sized cookies next time to see if that'll help, I might even try replacing some of the butter with applesauce. This batch also doesn't make 5 dozen by the way, it's more like 3.5 or 4. Overall, VERY GOOD but VERY CRUMBLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H.orseD.reamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My kids loved them. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I will not make this again. It was dry and not very tasty, my boyfriend wouldn't even try one, as he said it was very grey looking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious, easy and quick to make. Had no problem with too much spreading even without refrigerating the dough. Followed the recipe exactly. While I agree the icing sugar sprinkled on the baked cookies doesn't add much to the taste, I think it adds to the look and distinction of the cookie. I'll be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Yummy...used old fashioned, rather than quick oats, and no nuts because my kids don't like them in cookies (although I'll have to make more since I love pecans)...As the original contributor updated, parchment paper definitely not needed...I put a drop of oil on the pan and wiped it- cookies slid off easier than any I've ever made. Kids LOVED them even though they keep claiming they don't like oatmeal cookies! I loved them too- so buttery delicious! Forgot to dust with sugar and no one noticed... Best part besides the taste is how quick and easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
These cookies tasted sort of bland and were more salty than sweet. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
YUM! I chilled the dough and then rolled them into marble sized balls and cooked for 10 minutes and they were awesome! I made a bunch and gave them as Christmas goodies along with other treats and I got rave reviews from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spectralite
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious Cookies! They came out perfect for a cookie party I have to attend for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spectralite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
DELISH! SO crispy and the taste is just sinful. SUPER easy to make...we didnt have pecans so we just left them out....stlll awesome. Dont need parchment paper and we just used the regular oats. I did put my dough in the fridge for 15 min to make it easier to scoop. Used rounded teaspoons and cooked at 350 for 15 min. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Delicious! They are kind of crumbly but oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States