Danish Meatballs with Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was fantastic. I loved the flavour. I ommitted pouring the butter over the meatballs, and used garlic and herb chicken stock. Added some fresh black pepper and served it over steamed brown rice with grilled veggies. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These are requested now for family gatherings. To make it easier I now just add the bread crumbs to the meat mixture instead of rolling the meatballs in it. Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This recipe is great. I have served it as many parties and everyone ask for the recipe. I used pre-made meatballs which cut down on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This is really not very good, unless you like a VERY sour-cream-y sauce, much more so than a stroganoff. We had to toss the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I have a love/hate relationship with this recipe. I've made it a couple of times now. I guess I love the idea and how it CAN turn out. I like to add the bread crumbs to the meatballs instead of rolling them in it - makes a great meatball! But as written they are WAY too salty, so you have to cut the salt by at least half. The sauce is nice, but tends to need a little tweaking to be interesting. Its great comfort food and worth making, but the written recipe is just off enough to ruin it if you aren't careful. I'll probably make a version of these again anyway - and probably never would have if I hadn't found this recipe, so thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I included this at Hubs' request as part of our New Year's Eve array of appetizers. I wasn't enthusiastic about it but surprisingly found I was a lot fonder of them than I thought I'd be. But I did bump up the flavor a bit since I noticed that other than some salt, pepper and a little onion it was totally lacking any seasoning. I knew some garlic, fresh parsley and a few shakes of Worcestershire sauce couldn't hurt. More important, it wasn't until after I had the meatballs mixed up that I realized, to my surprise, that the bread crumbs weren't intended to be included in the mix - rather, the meatballs were to be rolled in them. Frankly, that seemed odd to me, so I'm glad I made the "mistake" of adding the bread crumbs, the traditional way, to the meat mixture. But it's really the sauce that brings these meatballs to life - creamy with a pronounced fresh dill flavor. These were part of our assortment of appetizers for our New Year's Eve celebration, but the ample amount left over will be great reheated and served over hot, buttered noodles. Four stars rather than five simply for the instruction to roll the meatballs in bread crumbs rather than adding them to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
They were a huge hit at my Bunco party. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Meatballs were a bit bland, I would add a little cracked pepper and a little bit of season salt additional. The sauce was great and made up for it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was a hit and very filling! I used premade meatballs and cooked the meatballs and sauce together before serving. I also served the leftovers over rice and with a salad for a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This was a great recipe. I used only ground beef for the meatballs, but otherwise followed the recipe very closely. The meatballs came out like a dream and the sauce was really great. I will certainly make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gothenburg, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States