Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a great recipe! I was so happy to find it as it reminds me of my childhood. The dough works up very nice as long as you keep it cold. I doubled the recipe and it worked fine. I also used canned pie filling for the filling and it worked great. Thank You for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I made this for the holidays for gifts and they were super! Everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I would like to add is to make sure not to cut all the way up to the filling, Otherwise your filling seeps out while cooking, ask me how i know! ! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
My fiance took this to work and they loved it! I loved how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I'm a star with my family for finding this recipe! At every Schmidt (my maiden name) family reunion I go to, there's always someone saying how they wish they could make kringle, it's their favorite, and on and on. My granddad grew up in Wisconsin near a bakery, and he got to have fresh kringle on a regular basis. I'm making him this for Christmas, and can't wait to see if it's just as good as he remembers it. Thanks for sharing, Colleen! More comments coming later...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
A little work but worth the effort! I used pie filling und it turned out great; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was good, but the filling oozed out of the dough and burned on the cookie sheet by the time the dough was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I made this for my husband for Father's Day using 1/2 cup apricot preserves for each section, plus sprinkling the walnut topping on each - YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
The dough for this recipe was good, but the filling oozed out and burned. The presentation was not how I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
My family and co-workers just loved this recipe! They cannot wait for me to make it again. The filling did ooze out while baking, but it did not ruin the kringle, just check on it while its baking to make sure the filling doesn't spill on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
If I had rated this recipe before eating the end result, I would have given it only 3 or 4 stars. Try as I may, there was no way I was going to get 3 kringles out of the amount of dough the recipe makes. I ended up with 2 and then the cuts were a little too long or something because a lot of the filling seeped out during baking. However, I transferred them immediatly upon removal from the oven to a clean surface so they wouldn't get stuck to the pan. The end result tastes absolutely awesome and in the end, was worth the trouble I had. I will make these again, doubling the amount of dough and making sure that my cuts aren't too long so the filling doesn't leak out. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States