Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Easy to make to dough! Don't cut into the rolled out dough too far! Just cut a third of the way on each side. I used slivered almonds in the filling instead of walnuts to make a "Bear Claw" pastry. It turned out fine! Try it. You'll be happy that you did! Just save some almonds to sprinkle on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Not what I expected at all. I had high hopes for this recipe. I am an experienced baker and have come across much better recipes. This one was difficult to work with. The filling oozed out and burnt on the pan while baking. The dough was not easy to manipulate. Definitely not enough dough for three braids as I had a hard enough time making two out of the dough. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I served it to my Saturday morning prayer group to rave reviews. It was also loved by my husband. I found it very easy to make and will definitley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLSOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I was afraid that the dough wasn't going to work but it turned out really buttery and flaky. I filled my Kringle with strawberries and sprinkled with raw sugar and egg white before baking. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
My daughter and I made this for her dad's birthday. We only got two kringles out of the dough. I think it would have been too difficult to work with if we had tried for three. We made one as directed and filled the other with apple pie filling. They were both delicious. There was some oozing of the filling, but we just removed them from the baking sheet right away and they looked great. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I made these in a smaller version for Christmas and everyone raved about them. I used apple jelly (tinted green) and raspberry jam for filling. Looked wonderful and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
If I had rated this recipe before eating the end result, I would have given it only 3 or 4 stars. Try as I may, there was no way I was going to get 3 kringles out of the amount of dough the recipe makes. I ended up with 2 and then the cuts were a little too long or something because a lot of the filling seeped out during baking. However, I transferred them immediatly upon removal from the oven to a clean surface so they wouldn't get stuck to the pan. The end result tastes absolutely awesome and in the end, was worth the trouble I had. I will make these again, doubling the amount of dough and making sure that my cuts aren't too long so the filling doesn't leak out. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
My family and co-workers just loved this recipe! They cannot wait for me to make it again. The filling did ooze out while baking, but it did not ruin the kringle, just check on it while its baking to make sure the filling doesn't spill on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A J Anitra Clemons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
The dough for this recipe was good, but the filling oozed out and burned. The presentation was not how I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I made this for my husband for Father's Day using 1/2 cup apricot preserves for each section, plus sprinkling the walnut topping on each - YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States