Danish Kringle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Oh my! this is awesome, looks and tastes like it was from a fancy bakery but quite easy to make at home. I made 1 big kringle, filled it with 8 oz cream cheese mixed with 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. Then I spread 1 can of Solo Apricot filling over top the cream cheese. Baked for 45 minutes on parchment paper, no mess or oozing, make sure your filling is thick or it will be a mess. Brushed top with a vanilla glaze and sprinkled with coarse sugar. Can't wait to try other fillings, thanks for the recipe! 12/12/2011 I made an apple filling, sliced 1 apple thinly, placed in a line down the middle, boiled my homemade apple pie filling and added 1 tbsp of flour to thicken, placed that on top of the sliced apple, proceeded as above, trial run for my orders, smelled fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by nymoenl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
i was only able to make two danish from this recipe. both times i had to almost double the cooking time to make sure the dough was cooked through - possibly a consequence of having a thicker crust. it's flaky and delicious. i filled with apples and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymoenl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Used an almond filling recipe from this site. Topped with almonds with 5 min left to bake to avoid them getting burned. Drizzled with white chocolate. Deliciou! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Super easy and very yummy! I have made this twice once with a blueberry cream cheese filling and the other with strawberry.Both very yummy.Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellant recipe, I was able to get three Kringles out of the recipe, next time I will put it in the refrigerator more like a log than a ball. Would make it easier to cut in thirds. I should have reread Wendy's suggestion of just dotting the butter, only used 1 stick 1/2 cup and had burnt butter all over. Thankfully I had used parchment paper, sprayed pan lightly with vegetable spray, laid down the paper and sprayed the top with more vegetable spray. Clean up was a breaze. Made two with the brown sugar, butter & walnuts and the third one I dotted cream cheese and strawberry pie filling, both were good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe was amazing! The dough was soft, flakey and versatile. I made three diffrent kinds of filling, cinnamon roll, cream cheese with blueberries and apple pie. By far the apple pie was the BEST! I also used half sour cream and half cream cheese in the dough, and it worked very well. Use your imagination and im sure this recipe would hold up to it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good for homemade danish. It is very rich, especially if you fill it with pie fillings. I made it just as the recipe instructed, and then I experimented with other fillings. Next time, I will try fruit sprinkled with a tiny bit of sugar for sweetness. I think it will complement the pastry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very yummy and fairly easy. Looks like it came from a fancy bakery. I made the exact recipe and the filling did seep everywhere even when I left plenty of space. I think it might be the amount of butter in the filling. I'm going to try a different filling next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
So easy to make, and better than any store-bought I have ever had! For one, I made an apricot filling. None of the filling leaked out. For the other I just spread apple jelly down the middle. The apple jelly one seeped all over when I baked it, but it still tasted great! Everyone raved, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
What can I possibly say other than WOW?! This was absolutely amazing! Tasted exactly like the Kringle I used to get the bakery next to my grandmother's house in Texas! I too, like several other reviewers, wasn't able to get 3 kringles out of the dough, only two, which is fine by me. I used a peach pie filling in both of mine, but cut out more than half of the syrup and added small chunks of cream cheese and they turned out AMAZING. My younger brother, who never really eats any kind of pastries or anything sweet, ate half of one within five minutes of them coming out of the oven. I really wish I could try it with the intended filling, but my boyfriend is allergic to nuts and I don't want to risk even having them in the house. But seriously, this is an amazing recipe! Thank you so much for sharing! Definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States