Danish Cinnamon Snails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Owlett
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Delicious! Turned out delightfully fluffy. Creamed the liquid ingredients, including the butter, before adding flour. Used two packets of instant yeast in place of cake yeast (cake is near impossible to find)and let that sit for about 15 minutes before adding to liquid ingredients. End result was a tender, fluffy crumb and delicate flavor. Oh! Also I doubled the filling, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I thought it would taste like a typical cinnamon roll but it wasn't very sweet and didn't have much cinnamon flavor either. The bread also was a little dense although I did like the cardamom. I thought something with 2 sticks of butter in it would taste a little richer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I loved the simplicity of these rolls. I added 1/4 tsp ground clove and 1/4 tsp nutmeg and orange essence dried cranberries to the filling. When the rolls were baked I made a simple milk and powdered sugar glaze to drizzle over the tops. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Easy to make and yummy! I just rolled the dough thinly into one big rectangle and cut it into 16 slices. I baked them as pull-aparts in 2 round cake pans and turned the oven down to 400 so they didn't brown too fast. Drizzled some frosting on while still warm and they were delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy! Made just as the recipe states. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Mine didn't come out quite so pretty, since I had a bit of trouble layering the two sheets of dough. Perhaps next time I'll simply roll them each on their own to get prettier results. The taste was great! It was fun making them, and they made the kitchen smell divine. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. The cardamom is there but subtle; there's not an overwhelming sweetness but a great balance of sweet combined with the softness of the breading/dough. Using cake yeast is a bit expensive (first time I've purchased it) but well worth it; it makes the dough's texture distinct when biting into it. I've never bought a cinnamon roll/snail this good. Really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Instead of making rolls for this recipe, I decided to save a little time by rolling out the dough, adding the filling inside, and then braiding the bread by cutting the sides of the dough a third of the way in on each side and alternately folding each side to the middle. I also drizzled an orange glaze over the top of the bread after it was done baking: 2 Tbls 1/2 & 1/2, 2 Tbls orange juice, zest from 1 orange, and powdered sugar until desired consistency. The result is a blend of cardamom and orange heaven and a beautifully browned loaf that is sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billo
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
verry good!!! double the filling, wasnt enough for me.. also, when u decrease the temp to 350, only bake for 8 more min..PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Don't shy away from cardamom!!!! it's your friend. Not many people know its in the ginger family, it's strong! and earthy, and slightly citrus in taste. That 1/2 tea. really make these pop! Make sure you butter and eggs are at room temperature. Forgot to take them out of the fridge? Just pop them on top of a pre-heating oven for 30 min. Active dry yeast works just great if you don't have cake yeast. Made this spur of the moment when I just wanted to bake something quick and easy. Also: I will always substitute a light brown sugar for white granulated sugar in regards to dough . But thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States