Danish Christmas Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I halved the recipe and it was enough for our large group with a Christmas turkey dinner. We really loved the flavour and it was nice to be able to make it ahead of time and just reheat when the rest of dinner was ready. It added gorgeous colour to the table. I will make this again and won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used the suggestion that Gitte1 made, to use red currant jam and vinegar instead of the white sugar and vinegar. It was good! But -- I started with a small head of cabbage and a full jar of jam, the 1/2 cup of vinegar and maybe 1/4 cup of broth. It was waaay too soupy. So I had to buy another big head of cabbage to add to the sauce. It's cooking now. Delicious taste! It really cooks down, so you'll wind up with much less than you start with. And it smells up your home. But the taste is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I always make red cabbage for Christmas and Thanksgiving meals. I cut mine up in Strips and add some oil to a pot and add 1 chopped onion and a cut up apple. I cook this for about 5 minutes then add the cabbage. I put in about 1/2 cup of Red Wine Vinegar and a couple of tablespoons of white sugar, salt and pepper. A couple of bay leaves and I peel a onion and leaving it whole I stick whole cloves, about 8 or 9 into the onion and add this to the pot of cabbage. Bring to a boil and then turn it down to a simmer and cook until the cabbage is tender. Stir often. To serve remove the whole onion and bay leaves and discard. My kids take what is left home, everyone raves about this. Cat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Leave out the sugar and put red currant jelly instead and hardly any water, just simmer, very low heat with the lid on for an hour (at least). I tend to shred the cabbage fairly fine, if you want bigger chunks you probably have to cook it an hour and a half - two hours. We always cook this Christmas Eve morning (Christmas Eve is the main celebration in Europe) to get the fragrance necessary for the Yule spirit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really delicious and SUPER-easy!! My family loved this recipe and I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe...was looking for a way to utilize the red cabbage I had in the fridge from a previous dish and didn't want to waste it. I think the alternative to using red currant jam given by another reviewer sounds tasty, but I followed the directions above and was very pleased with the outcome. I do tend to enjoy vinegar - sometimes on my fries & what not, but you can taylor the amount of sweet & sour based on your personal preferences. Thanks for sharing...it was a nice flavorful, colorful, dinner side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I've never had hot cabbage with sugar and vinegar. This was also the first time I've ever eaten red cabbage cooked. It was delicious! This dish is good hot or cold! It's simple but is nicely crisp and flavorful. We served it with homemade macaroni and cheese. It was a great dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Super easy to make and just like I remember from when I lived in Denmark a decade ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! I took it to our November supper club as an extra vegetable. Not only does it look very pretty but everyone commented on it. Even the men (the reason for the main vegetable) loved it. I couldn't have been more shocked. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Used half the vinegar and half the sugar. Great, but I think I could reduce the sugar even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States