Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My mom and I have made this recipe for years (with one exception), to rave reviews. Instead of an icing drizzle we use a cream cheese frosting. We mix a small cream cheese with 1cup confectioners sugar, 2 tablespoons softened butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and a dash of salt. Frost when puff is completely cooled. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Mmm! My family loved this! Its really nice because its not too sweet. Its nice and buttery with a bit of sweetness in the glaze. Wonderful buttery puff pastry! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I ran out of Almond Extract, so I substituted with Almendrado Tequila. SO YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
WOW...this is a GREAT recipe to have on hand but especially during the holidays. It will be easy now that I've made it for the first time. My husband loved it and said it was better than anything we've ever purchased out. I love that it doesn't have sugar in the pastry but is sweet enought with the frosting. I will definitely make this again and again. I will try variations like vanilla extract and pecans maybe adding some cinnamon & brown sugar for the frosting. LOVE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I found this recipe a few years back, and it's become a Christmas Eve tradition. It's simple to make and it's such a light and tasty pastry that it goes great after a heavy meal. In fact, we usually have leftovers with coffee for Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbank, Iowa, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very different! I am not even sure how to explain the taste? The two layers were both very crispy, greasy, and slightly flaky. It did not remind me of a danish either, which has a slightly sweet taste even in the crust to go along with the buttery flavor. I also thought it was going to rise and flake up more like a puff pastry to, but it only rose slightly. I used vanilla extract as I do not care for almond extract, which would not affect the results. When finished I topped with slivered almonds. A modified version would have to be a lot less greasy, puff up a little more, and have some type of sweet cheese or sweetened preserves between the layers so it is not just like eating two thin greasy crusts topped with almonds. I just don't understand this recipe? I think filling suggestions may have helped? I don't know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a simple yet decandent danish pastry dessert that has a legacy in my family. I got the recipe from my German grandmother and is a tasty . How I cook it to be perfect is: pre-heat the oven at 320 instead of 350 and let it cook about twenty minutes longer at lower heat. I have a batch in the oven for my brother who is visiting today. A delicious snack, goes perfectly with a nice warm cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was great! I wasn't sure because the recipe was pretty unique, but it was beautiful and so tasty! I recommend adding toasted sliced almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
My husband would cancel Christmas if we did not have this- His mom made it for him every year- I make it for all kinds of occasions now- I have since made and fed it to others and they serve it now- It looks so complicated but is not! Very impressive. I do not like the almond extract, I sub with vanilla- I use what nuts I have on hand- Walnuts or pecans are our favorite- or if your budget is tight, it tastes amazing without nuts coz chances are you would have all these ingredients in your pantry to make this elegant dessert! (also same as "danish puff" on AR)- My husband would give it 50 stars if he could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I have made this since 1964. Our neighbor brought over a coffe cake so I could bake it and I burned it. This recipe was the only one I had the ingredients for. The only store in town was closed. They loved this and I have made it several time for them. All four of our children have won blue ribbons for danish puff. Both my sisters and sister in law make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States