Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This is a very yummy dessert, I've been making it for many years. I did change one thing, to save half the fat...skip the bottom layer. It doesn't really add any flavor, and the top layer is what's really the best part. Here's a tip on spreading that top layer out...use a wet spoon, it really makes the job easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I have used this recipe since 1960 I have always used slivered almonds over the frosting, carrying the flavor of the Almond extract that is in the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Thank you, thank you, thank you, I had this recipe years ago. This is from an old cook book, which I lost while moving. I would often put a thin layer of Solo fruit filling, or almond paste, over the crust, between the two layers. Easy and elegant dessert, great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I have made this for years, but what I do is after its baked and cooled I slice the two pastries in half long ways and fill with instant vanilla pudding prepared as for a pie and add adrop or two of almond extract. Then put top on and frost. It always is a big hit and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is the same basic recipe my Mom made for us when we were small except she always used maple flavoring instead of the almond. For the icing she would make a butter icing (approx. 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 c.butter, 2 tsp. maple flavoring and a dollup milk in the mixer) and add maple flavoring to that, too - spread it on while it is still just warm - then she'd sprinkle chopped english walnuts on top. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Did I just make this???!!! Wow! This is delicious! So easy, so fast, and sooo extraordinary! This is like fine pastry shop quality. I can't wait to serve it to my guests this evening. I'm also amazed at the ingredient list...just regular, everyday items that I always have on hand. You must try this! QUICK UPDATE: EVERYONE RAVED OVER THIS! THEY COULDN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS MYSELF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wife has made this for years. One of the best,(wife and recipe). Only change is 2 cups confectioners' sugar in the glaze. Try this for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I like that the ingrediants came together without a special trip to the grocery store. I was a bit dissapponted in the final product. For begining bakers this comes out very well but the end product was not a show stopper here. I baked for only 50 minutes and probably could have pulled it out after 45. I garnished with chopped almonds instead of candy pieces. The flavor was more of a two for me with the second layer of dough tasting too much like egg but the ease of assemble and ingrediant list bumped this to a 3 star. Would i make it again? Perhaps in a pinch but I would probably jazz it up by rolling dough out as 8 seperate balls, flattening, topping with the second layer and then adding sweetened creamcheese or presevers for a filling and lightly striping with icing and sliced almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and spread a thin layer of almond paste between layers and topped with sliced almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I also was so excited to try it, that I didn't wait for it to cool to room temp before frosting, and I am glad, as it was so much better warm than cold. I found it to be a bit bland, and my husband and I thought that maybe a thin layer of lemon filling or even fruit filling might make it a little bit more tasty. Leftovers didn't keep well at all, so I would half the recipe unless you have a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the hit of the Christmas morning brunch. I topped off the icing with almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I was afraid that this wouldn't be sweet enough, but it was perfect, and froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States