Danish Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very easy to make with clear instructions! The pastry was delicious, light and not overly sweet. I'd recommend this for a quick breakfast treat or even a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I have made this for years, but what I do is after its baked and cooled I slice the two pastries in half long ways and fill with instant vanilla pudding prepared as for a pie and add adrop or two of almond extract. Then put top on and frost. It always is a big hit and everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I like that the ingrediants came together without a special trip to the grocery store. I was a bit dissapponted in the final product. For begining bakers this comes out very well but the end product was not a show stopper here. I baked for only 50 minutes and probably could have pulled it out after 45. I garnished with chopped almonds instead of candy pieces. The flavor was more of a two for me with the second layer of dough tasting too much like egg but the ease of assemble and ingrediant list bumped this to a 3 star. Would i make it again? Perhaps in a pinch but I would probably jazz it up by rolling dough out as 8 seperate balls, flattening, topping with the second layer and then adding sweetened creamcheese or presevers for a filling and lightly striping with icing and sliced almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wife has made this for years. One of the best,(wife and recipe). Only change is 2 cups confectioners' sugar in the glaze. Try this for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Really 4 1/2 stars. Just made this and as mentioned it comes together really quickly and easily, with staples already in my cabinet. I added almond filling between the two layers and only baked it for 35 min instead of the specified 60. I should have cooked it an additional 10 minutes because the end product is slightly eggy...but no complaints. What a great recipe when you have house guests and want something sweet but not time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Did I just make this???!!! Wow! This is delicious! So easy, so fast, and sooo extraordinary! This is like fine pastry shop quality. I can't wait to serve it to my guests this evening. I'm also amazed at the ingredient list...just regular, everyday items that I always have on hand. You must try this! QUICK UPDATE: EVERYONE RAVED OVER THIS! THEY COULDN'T BELIEVE I MADE THIS MYSELF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I took the advice of an earlier reviewer and spread a thin layer of almond paste between layers and topped with sliced almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I also was so excited to try it, that I didn't wait for it to cool to room temp before frosting, and I am glad, as it was so much better warm than cold. I found it to be a bit bland, and my husband and I thought that maybe a thin layer of lemon filling or even fruit filling might make it a little bit more tasty. Leftovers didn't keep well at all, so I would half the recipe unless you have a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Wow...did this recipe bring back very fond memories! Although my mom made it for me as a child, I have never made it myself. It was very easy and was quite a hit with my Progressive Dinner group. Make this one and you will have raves at your next brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma LeGeyt Meligonis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Very good! I was sick and was still able to make this recipe with ease. Everyone who ate it agreed that it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the hit of the Christmas morning brunch. I topped off the icing with almonds instead of candy sprinkles. I was afraid that this wouldn't be sweet enough, but it was perfect, and froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States