Dandelion Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
A few notes on what's wrong with this recipe: 1) Double the amount of dandelion flowers. The flowers are best picked at mid-morning to mid-day. When preparing them remove all the green, especially the green stalk which is very bitter. Most of the green sepals should be removed as well, but if a few get through that's fine, they'll add some body. 2) Allow the flowers to steep for 2 days, not 4 minutes. Keep the pot covered during this time. 3) After 2 days strain off the flowers, add the remaining ingredients except the yeast, but as others have noted only use half the sugar. 1-2 lbs (2-4 cups) of sugar will be plenty, depending on how dry or sweet you like your wine. 4) Bring it back to a boil for 10 minutes and then put the liquid into your sterilized primary fermentator. After it has cooled to roughly 30 C or 90 F add the wine yeast (not baker's yeast, although that might do in a pinch) and the fermentation lock. When the bubbling has mostly subsided (10-14 days) remove the liquid from the lees and rack it for 2 months before bottling (unless you like exploding bottles). Like all wines, it's best if it's aged in the bottle for at least a year, although there'll be a noticible improvement after just 6 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was amazed how simple and quick this wine was to brew. I used 7 cups of sugar, 2 oranges and 2 lemons. I tried adding orange and lemon slices to some jars and left other jars with just wine. I like the ones with a lemon and an orange slice the best. Also after trying different mixes with the finished wine I found mixing wine with an ounce of real cranberry juice and a squirt of lime juice in a wine glass to be the best. The cranberry juice sourness equals out the wines sweetness in a very tasty way. If you have a bunch of dandelions don't think twice about trying this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and it came out extremely strong! Like burns your throat as it goes down strong... maybe I did something wrong!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have not mad any yet,but there is a vacant lot across the street with lots of dandelions. I DO remember a co-worker brought some to work which was made by his landlord;an old Jehovah's Witness woman. It was bright yellow and sweet. Great wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jashar160

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was a bit sweet, but I can tame that next time - easy to make too! I'm going to experiment with this next time, I like it alot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I think this is a pretty good recipe- mine came out a bit too sweet, it was like Boone's farm plus a cup of sugar! So I would try 6 or 7 cups of sugar next time- otherwise, nice flavor and fizz! I left the fruit in with the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Wine tastes like a mixture of rubbing alcohol and sugar :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Wine Basics

Tune in for a quick review of white and red wines from around the world.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States