Dandelion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Just remember you must harvest the greens before they blossom or the greens will be bitter!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I too grew up eating this. Ours contained hard boiled egg and bacon with a oil and viniger dressing. It is still a rite of spring for me. For those who did not like the bitter flavor - note the greens must be young. Anything that has a flower bud (even small) - it is too old. Do try this if you never have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Thank you for this very tasty salad. In my country we love dandelions. We mostly boil them lightly and eat them with lemon juice and olive oil as a salad. They go very well with fryed fish or with barbequed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This brought back memories of my childhood when Mom and Dad would go to the woods to pick wild greens--nothing better! I still long for that taste. Mom would cook them in some water and add bacon grease. Yummy! I remember dandelion and sour dock being some of the "weeds"they picked. We would also sprinkle our serving with a little vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This simple recipe is great - I grew up eatting dandelion salad. I slice the onions instead of chopping, and don't add the dried basil. Crumbled feta and a simple dressing of EVOO and balsamic or red wine vinegar go well with this. Tender young greens from your yard or farmer's market are way better than the huge ones sold in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I love a simple green salad that allows the flavor of the greens to stand out on their own. I love dandelion greens (they're not for everyone!) & simply adding the onions & tomatoes are more than enough to make a delicious salad. The dried basil is a nice touch and a great subtle flavor addition. I enjoyed this with my own simple balsamic vinaigrette dressing recipe & it hit the spot. If you want to help tone down the bitter flavor of the dandelion greens, just soak them in some salted cold water for 5-10 minutes. Then drain & dry before making the salad. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Thought it was great! Made it just as recomended. But the mangos and pine nuts with gorgonzola sound great! I will try that next time. Never have liked dandelion's before but made sure I picked only the very young tender ones. They were not bitter at all, whole family liked it and could not believe it was dandelions. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
If you don't pick these right when they spring up out of the ground they will be bitter. You have to pick 'em fresh for the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I really liked this especially with the addition of mango and crumbled blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I grew up eating this salad; I loved it then and I love it now. My mom would get up early in the morning to pick the tender leaves from the backyard. She would then make a sweet warm bacon dressing that did a nice job of offsetting the slight bitter flavor of the greens. Thanks John, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States