Dandelion Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have not tried this recipe, but it sounds delicious. Also, as a reminder, not to be facetious, but those of you who treat your lawns with chemicals, do not use dandelion greens from your lawn. Chemical lawn treatments are toxic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
If you don't pick these right when they spring up out of the ground they will be bitter. You have to pick 'em fresh for the sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very bitter greens but was great with a hot bacon dressing, I will offset this next time with adding spinach, fruit, and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I love a simple green salad that allows the flavor of the greens to stand out on their own. I love dandelion greens (they're not for everyone!) & simply adding the onions & tomatoes are more than enough to make a delicious salad. The dried basil is a nice touch and a great subtle flavor addition. I enjoyed this with my own simple balsamic vinaigrette dressing recipe & it hit the spot. If you want to help tone down the bitter flavor of the dandelion greens, just soak them in some salted cold water for 5-10 minutes. Then drain & dry before making the salad. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
All I can say to those who tried this and found it bitter, is that the greens have to be young, first growing, perhaps before the bud shows...... Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Brought back great memories of my Italian father picking dandelions from the yard! He would saute' in olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. I thought it was so weird to eat "weeds" but through him I learned to love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I've tried to eat dandelions over and over again - I kept thinking I must be doing something wrong. I first ate them as a child when my mom would pick them from very young plants and make a salad similar to this but with oil and vinegar dressing. I didn't like it then and I still don't care for it. Darn things are bitter. I know, they're good for you - but you have to eat them to get the benefit of that goodness and I just can't. Sorry. At least I gave it one star - for the memories. My mom kept a basket and a knife in the trunk of the car and would stop and pick dandelions from farmers fields when she was out in the country - she thought they were a big prize! This was back in the middle ages - in the 1950's and 60's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This brought back memories of my childhood when Mom and Dad would go to the woods to pick wild greens--nothing better! I still long for that taste. Mom would cook them in some water and add bacon grease. Yummy! I remember dandelion and sour dock being some of the "weeds"they picked. We would also sprinkle our serving with a little vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This simple recipe is great - I grew up eatting dandelion salad. I slice the onions instead of chopping, and don't add the dried basil. Crumbled feta and a simple dressing of EVOO and balsamic or red wine vinegar go well with this. Tender young greens from your yard or farmer's market are way better than the huge ones sold in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Thank you for this very tasty salad. In my country we love dandelions. We mostly boil them lightly and eat them with lemon juice and olive oil as a salad. They go very well with fryed fish or with barbequed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoulianitissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States