Dandelion Greens with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Carmelizing a whole onion really gives this dish the sweetness that the bitter greens need, I think. Wonderful with some cannelini beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sagheb
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Nice & spicy; not at all bitter. Over 2 gallons fresh leaves cooked down to about 2.5 cups. I chopped the leaves with the kitchen scissors after the boiling step to make them a more appealing texture (less stringy). Very much like chopped frozen spinach. The most time-consuming part was separating all the flowers, stems, etc. from the leaves and washing them well. Just cleaned all the weeds out of the vegetable garden and got a free side dish out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I had never had dandelion greens before but was curious to try them. Started caramelizing the onions then added the garlic, pepper flakes, salt and pepper. I boiled the greens as directed, then added them to the onion saute. Stirred it all together for a minute or two, then added some crumbled goat cheese (instead of parmesan) and a squeeze of lemon juice before plating. Added sunflower seeds after plating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Happened to have some Pasta Prima Spinach and Mozzarella Ravioli from Costco on hand - added the Parmesan and herb seasoning to the greens as well - delicious!! You have to like Dandelion greens and if you do... try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
loved this! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I am rating this recipe 4 stars because: 1. The kidlets did not like it at all but I thought it was pretty good considering it's dandelion greens. 2. The kick was a bit too much so next time I would half the red pepper flakes. The only thing I did differently was to slightly caramelize the onions. Served with Summer Squash Chicken Alfredo and Roasted Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The best!!! My family loves greens and I am always on the lookout for something new and fun. When I had tried feeding them dandelion greens before they all thought they were too bitter but boiling in a salt water bath did the trick and the seasonings were sooo good. I did put my favorites for greens on the table tabasco and vinegar but even without those I loved this recipe. Thanks a bunch :) oh yeah be sure to double or triple this you will need lots and they do cook down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I had never dared to try dandelion greens before and both my husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I did feel that the greens were not as sharp as I had expected, and I'm not sure whether that is because I bought organic greens in the supermarket or whether soaking them took away more of the sharp flavor than I would have liked. I am a bit uncomfortable with digging them out of my lawn. I know I don't put anything poisonous down on the grass, but still, it makes me nervous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fikenhild
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
A good recipe following reviewers' advice. I gathered up a couple of pounds of wild dandelions and followed shelbriggs' suggestion to use more dandelions than the recipe called for. I also used Miss KJ and Carjaq's advice by boiling them for about ten minutes to get the bitterness out. It worked. You really do need more than a pound as the dandelions cook down about like spinach. This recipe is really for two people rather than four. I liked the flavor added by the red pepper flakes. I'll be making dandelions again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Next time I would boil them longer, maybe 8-10 minutes to get them less bitter. A little more garlic and add salt while sauteing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States