Dandelion Greens with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. I boiled the greens for about 15 minutes to remove more bitterness. Adding the parmesan at the end really mellows the flavor. A great way to eat weeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added some mushrooms that we really needed to use up, and the earthiness really added to an already great dish! Served with steak, the dinner was a smash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Greens were larger from mid-summer season so salt-soaked and salt-boiled for a bit longer. As I had it on hand, I used chicken fat skimmed from soup instead of other fats to saute them. Doubled the garlic and added black pepper at the same time as garlic to cook a moment before adding the boiled greens. The onions caramelized, which along with red pepper flakes, was the making of this dish. Served them with dollop of plain Greek yogurt, and then ate leftovers cold the next morning with curried scrambled eggs. Delicious and not bitter at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The best!!! My family loves greens and I am always on the lookout for something new and fun. When I had tried feeding them dandelion greens before they all thought they were too bitter but boiling in a salt water bath did the trick and the seasonings were sooo good. I did put my favorites for greens on the table tabasco and vinegar but even without those I loved this recipe. Thanks a bunch :) oh yeah be sure to double or triple this you will need lots and they do cook down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Happened to have some Pasta Prima Spinach and Mozzarella Ravioli from Costco on hand - added the Parmesan and herb seasoning to the greens as well - delicious!! You have to like Dandelion greens and if you do... try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
loved this! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I am rating this recipe 4 stars because: 1. The kidlets did not like it at all but I thought it was pretty good considering it's dandelion greens. 2. The kick was a bit too much so next time I would half the red pepper flakes. The only thing I did differently was to slightly caramelize the onions. Served with Summer Squash Chicken Alfredo and Roasted Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Good recipe. Will make again, I liked the technique. Not sure how 1 lb can feed 4 people, by the time I cooked them down I had about 1/2 cup total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
...and Todd said "Do steps 1 and 3 but not 2 or 4" and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThatGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Next time I would boil them longer, maybe 8-10 minutes to get them less bitter. A little more garlic and add salt while sauteing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States