Dandelion Greens with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Greens were larger from mid-summer season so salt-soaked and salt-boiled for a bit longer. As I had it on hand, I used chicken fat skimmed from soup instead of other fats to saute them. Doubled the garlic and added black pepper at the same time as garlic to cook a moment before adding the boiled greens. The onions caramelized, which along with red pepper flakes, was the making of this dish. Served them with dollop of plain Greek yogurt, and then ate leftovers cold the next morning with curried scrambled eggs. Delicious and not bitter at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. I boiled the greens for about 15 minutes to remove more bitterness. Adding the parmesan at the end really mellows the flavor. A great way to eat weeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
loved this! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added some mushrooms that we really needed to use up, and the earthiness really added to an already great dish! Served with steak, the dinner was a smash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I had never had dandelion greens before but was curious to try them. Started caramelizing the onions then added the garlic, pepper flakes, salt and pepper. I boiled the greens as directed, then added them to the onion saute. Stirred it all together for a minute or two, then added some crumbled goat cheese (instead of parmesan) and a squeeze of lemon juice before plating. Added sunflower seeds after plating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Happened to have some Pasta Prima Spinach and Mozzarella Ravioli from Costco on hand - added the Parmesan and herb seasoning to the greens as well - delicious!! You have to like Dandelion greens and if you do... try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Carmelizing a whole onion really gives this dish the sweetness that the bitter greens need, I think. Wonderful with some cannelini beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sagheb
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Nice & spicy; not at all bitter. Over 2 gallons fresh leaves cooked down to about 2.5 cups. I chopped the leaves with the kitchen scissors after the boiling step to make them a more appealing texture (less stringy). Very much like chopped frozen spinach. The most time-consuming part was separating all the flowers, stems, etc. from the leaves and washing them well. Just cleaned all the weeds out of the vegetable garden and got a free side dish out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The best!!! My family loves greens and I am always on the lookout for something new and fun. When I had tried feeding them dandelion greens before they all thought they were too bitter but boiling in a salt water bath did the trick and the seasonings were sooo good. I did put my favorites for greens on the table tabasco and vinegar but even without those I loved this recipe. Thanks a bunch :) oh yeah be sure to double or triple this you will need lots and they do cook down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I am rating this recipe 4 stars because: 1. The kidlets did not like it at all but I thought it was pretty good considering it's dandelion greens. 2. The kick was a bit too much so next time I would half the red pepper flakes. The only thing I did differently was to slightly caramelize the onions. Served with Summer Squash Chicken Alfredo and Roasted Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States