Dandelion Greens with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. I boiled the greens for about 15 minutes to remove more bitterness. Adding the parmesan at the end really mellows the flavor. A great way to eat weeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Greens were larger from mid-summer season so salt-soaked and salt-boiled for a bit longer. As I had it on hand, I used chicken fat skimmed from soup instead of other fats to saute them. Doubled the garlic and added black pepper at the same time as garlic to cook a moment before adding the boiled greens. The onions caramelized, which along with red pepper flakes, was the making of this dish. Served them with dollop of plain Greek yogurt, and then ate leftovers cold the next morning with curried scrambled eggs. Delicious and not bitter at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added some mushrooms that we really needed to use up, and the earthiness really added to an already great dish! Served with steak, the dinner was a smash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Good recipe. Will make again, I liked the technique. Not sure how 1 lb can feed 4 people, by the time I cooked them down I had about 1/2 cup total!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
...and Todd said "Do steps 1 and 3 but not 2 or 4" and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThatGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Next time I would boil them longer, maybe 8-10 minutes to get them less bitter. A little more garlic and add salt while sauteing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fikenhild
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
A good recipe following reviewers' advice. I gathered up a couple of pounds of wild dandelions and followed shelbriggs' suggestion to use more dandelions than the recipe called for. I also used Miss KJ and Carjaq's advice by boiling them for about ten minutes to get the bitterness out. It worked. You really do need more than a pound as the dandelions cook down about like spinach. This recipe is really for two people rather than four. I liked the flavor added by the red pepper flakes. I'll be making dandelions again with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I had never dared to try dandelion greens before and both my husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I did feel that the greens were not as sharp as I had expected, and I'm not sure whether that is because I bought organic greens in the supermarket or whether soaking them took away more of the sharp flavor than I would have liked. I am a bit uncomfortable with digging them out of my lawn. I know I don't put anything poisonous down on the grass, but still, it makes me nervous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
The best!!! My family loves greens and I am always on the lookout for something new and fun. When I had tried feeding them dandelion greens before they all thought they were too bitter but boiling in a salt water bath did the trick and the seasonings were sooo good. I did put my favorites for greens on the table tabasco and vinegar but even without those I loved this recipe. Thanks a bunch :) oh yeah be sure to double or triple this you will need lots and they do cook down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States