Dana's Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Some of my ingredients were of a smaller weight than the recipe, however, I used all of the oil/seasoning mix. It looked oily when I first mixed it up in a paper grocery sack. Because I had the time, I went ahead and baked it for 30 min. at 300 degrees. It did not seem oily after baking. Because i was taking it to a workplace, I put it in snack sized bags and filled 40 with the batch. Very tasty and a nice change from traditional mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I did not have the cheese-filled crackers. I just added in more goldfish crackers. I also used a homemade ranch dressing mix. I did bake this spread into a deep pan--250* for an hour, stirred every 15 minutes just to make them crispy and to help that oil soak in. We LOVED this snack mix. GREAT for movie night and the kids asked for me to pack some in their lunches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Loved it!!!!! I've made it 3 times in the past 3 weeks. Only substitution was cheez-its for goldfish....just personal preference. Did not think it was too oily. I cut down on oil first 2 times.....3rd time followed recipe.....it was perfect. I make this for my neighbors at Christmas.....they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Yum! I couldn't find most of the ingredients in the sizes listed here. My rice cereal, oyster crackers and cheese-filled sandwich crackers were available in smaller sizes. I reduced the oil since my ingredients weighed less and I omitted the nuts (just not a fan of them in party mix). My favorite part are the cheese crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very simple to make, and well liked by all I served. Makes three large ziplock bags of mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was great, I didn't have the popcorn oil so I used olive oil. It gave the whole thing a bit of a Mediterranean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very good and easy. I left the nuts out since my family does not care for them. It is a little oily but I will try some of the things others used to absorb some of the oil next time. Oh and its 3 year old approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I agree--it's too oily, but I solved that problem. I laid out newspapers on the table and put paper towels on top and spread the mixture on that. It absorbed the extra oiliness. The stored it in zipper bags. It makes so much that I can use it more than once and have leftovers. It is Very addicting! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
It was a little too greasy, but that small factor aside the flavor was delicious. Will definitely be my new favorite party mix recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I make this and send it to family and friends who are away at college, usually around midterm and just before final exams...I ship it in a small, new trash bucket. This snack mix is consumed immediately and is much enjoyed because it is a little spicier. Hats off to Dana! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States