Dalton's Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Excellent recipe. I like to cook it in my slow cooker. It is great to take to pot luck meals. You can use pretty much any kind of canned beans you like, too (I'm not real fond of limas).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe love the different textures. The second time I made it I substituted a 1/4 cup of ketchup for 1/4 cup of sweet baby ray's bbq. This gave them a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is very tasty. I added less brown sugar, about 1/4 cup. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
In my recipe bok these are named "baked beans for people who don't like baked beans" They're fantastic! You can add any other type of beans too to make it go a bit further or substitute also. Just make sure you drain and rinse all other types of beans except the baked beans. Never thought I'd EVER like baked beans but I was wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
YUM! My family devoured this with a side of cornbread, it's great as a main dish. Simple, easy, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Great served as a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This is a FANTASTIC recipe...I have made "Dalton's Beans" several times and they are always a "HIT". Hats off to Dalton! Brenda Moore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Make these even better by adding a ring of klielbasa, sliced, and a splash of dry white wine. Why? I don't know, just because I had some. We call these "hillbilly beans" and when we all get together I'm asked to make these. By the way, throw them in the crockpot for a few hours instead of heating up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Great recipe. I did hold off on adding the cooked bacon until closer to the end so it holds its shape better and substituted the brown sugar with an equivalent. Still works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. My boyfriend and the boys at work (it made heaps of leftovers!) really liked it but I had to make A LOT of changes. I added just 2 tablespoons of ketchup and a sprinkling of brown sugar as they are both very sweet. The sauce in the can of baked beans is also sweet so you can imagine how sickly it tasted. I then added some garlic, tomato paste. tobascco sauce, chili powder & thyme which took some of the sweetness away. It sure did need all this extra flavour. I also just let it simmer on the stove top rather than finish it off in the over. With these changes it makes nice Sunday 'mince on toast' but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States