Dale's Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Added a little nutmeg and allspice with a dash of cayenne pepper used some leftover coffee from the morning. Kids scarfed this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delicious. I didn't add the instant coffee as I don't use it and had none on hand. . I cooked the meatballs until done and then only warmed them in the sauce for approximately 8 minutes and then served over rice. My family all agreed a definite do over! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Was a very good recipe. I love the Banquet frozen dinner swedish meatballs and have been looking for years for a recipe that tastes close...this one does. The meatballs are really tender and the sauce is great. The only problem I had is the amount of sauce. We like ours with enough to pour over the noodles too & even though I doubled the sauce part of the recipe there was hardly any left after the simmering. I'm going to try canning the sauce and freezing some meatballs separately then I can heat the balls up in the sauce when I cook it & there might be more left over. Overall a very good recipe & will definately be making it many times more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made the meatballs only. Delicious! I did not put in the green pepper as the hubby doesn't like them. I will if he is not eating them. Great flavor, tender and NOT DRY! I used a can of cream of chicken soup, about 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1/2 soup can of milk and fresh pepper mixed for the sauce. I browned the meatballs and cooked them for about 1 1/2 hours in the sauce. Served over mashed potatoes=perfect comfort food!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These were delicious. If you are in a hurry bake some and save a few to cook in a skillet so you can get the drippings to make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars with the changes that were made by a couple other reviewers. I added the fresh gratted nutmeg to both the meatballs and the sauce, baked the meatballs at 350° for 30 minutes and then simmered in the sauce on the stovetop for a bit and I used a cup of coffee in place of the instant coffee and one cup of the water. These turned out really good and fairly easy to make. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Sounds like a good receipe but everyone is forgetting the true taste of the Sweden meatball,add nutmeg. Yes that's right, freshly grated prefered. I usually add 1/2 teaspoon to 1lb of ground beef or more to your likng. You will be amazed at the taste. Also add some to the gravy, start small and experiment as the flavor can over power the dish. You'll never make it again without this ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I also cheated and used pre-made meatballs. The sauce was a little bland so I added a little worcestershire sauce and it turned out perfect! I baked the meatballs, made the sauce and then threw it all together in the crockpot to simmer for a couple of hours. The kids and the hubby all loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Medinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I liked it but my hubby and his friend said it needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States