Dale's Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe focusing on the pork. It's a great alternative when it's too cold to slow cook on the grill and doesn't hide the meat flavor behind sauces or sodas like other recipes. The only adjustments I made were to coat the pork in smoked paprika and chipotle powder before returning it to the pot, and using beef instead of chicken broth (it's what I had on hand!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made this a few times and always a hit! It has turned out best with a few alterations. I marinated the roast overnight with a can of coke, brown sugar, ketchup, onion, seasoning salt, smokehouse maple seasoning, and bbq sauce of choice ....and if I don't have overnight the longer time marinating the better. I've used loin butt and shoulder they all turn out great. Before I put it in the oven I don't sear it but do pull it out of the marinade and cover the roast with dry rub of Lawrys smokehouse maple and put it in the pan using the marinade as braising liquid. Always turns out delicious with meat sooo tender and moist can't get folks to wait for a sandwich with dip! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was great! I used a crock-pot and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was looking for a pulled pork recipe not smothered in BBQ sauce since we had some at a cookout and my family seemed to like it better. Based on our preferences I modified this recipe as follows: I used a 1.2lb pork tenderloin because that's the perfect size for one dinner for us. I skipped the onions since the kids won't eat them. I added 2T honey to the liquid. I accidentally used 2 1/4 Tablespoons liq smoke instead of teaspoons (oops!!). And I seared the meat in a skillet but put the meat and liquid into a glass baking dish covered with foil to bake it. I only cooked it for 2.5 hours. Now the result: THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. So simple to make and the whole family loved it!! The smoke flavor was wonderful, and I would use 2T again. It was not overpowering at all and had a nice flavor. Most of all this was incredibly moist! After I shredded the meat i tossed it back in the baking pan with tongs, just coating all the meat with he liquid. pretty much all got absorbed back into the meat. It was not greasy at all and so moist and flavorful. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
A family favorite! I used Worcester instead of liquid smoke and my husband who is picky requested it for Fathers Day. Love it, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
that was terrible .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Outstanding recipe!!! Add a little brown sugar and honey for a sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Best pulled pork I have made, and I've made a lot! Followed recipe to a tee with suggestions from Dale! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitcairn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Dale all i can say is thank you, thank you, thank you! just made this recipe this evening and it was fantastic!! i had almost given up on pork butt all together because it would either come out dry and tough or soggy and inedible. this recipe is perfect! i wish i could give it 10 stars. i followed it to a tee but read the update where you had added more liquid smoke and pulled it apart with your hands so i followed those modified directions. the pork roast came out juicy and full of flavor and fell off the bone without any effort at all. if you have ever had problems with pork butt like i have then this is the no fail recipe for you. easy to make and delicious which is how it should be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT !!!!........Super Tender & Easy !!!!.....used the left overs for pulled pork sandwiches the next day, just added some Sweet Baby Rays + coleslaw = Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States