Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a competent cook and I followed this recipe to the T, but it did not come out well at all. The cake crumbled to bits long before I could even attempt to frost it. I think the problem is that the recipe only calls for one egg, which just isn't enough to bind the batter together properly. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thanks to this recipe, i am now dubbed the cake boss :) the flavor was so rich and the frosting..all i can say is yumm... this one stays in the book. i will make this cake probably 5 more times this year im sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. The only thing I did different was use semi-sweet chocolate chips and a different brand of sour cream. This is as close in texture as you can get to a boxed cake, very moist and tasty!! Thanks for the recipe. And I baked it in a bundt pan @ 325 for 43 min exactly. Colorado elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Oh wow, this is absolutely decadent! Wonderfully soft and moist, almost like devil's food cake. I made these into cupcakes (only baked for about 15 min) and the icing is almost too thick for such a delicate crumb. I think it would be hard to ice an actual cake but it was ok for cupcakes. 100x better then a mix and not hard to make at all! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
With reviews of typically all five stars....I still have to give this cake a 4.....Overall it was very good but we didn't care for the frosting too much...the cake itself was very good....this was my first cake I've ever made from scratch so who knows maybe I just need more practice....or different frosting recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is SO good! I have made this cake twice and it was amazing both times! On the second cake I made a raspberry filling that complimented this cake so well! This is definitely my go to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe!I'm a terrible cook and this turned out sooo good. My whole family thought it was so moist and delicious.One thing though, my frosting came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margaritka
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Good cake! We enjoyed it very much. It was a bit too sweet for our taste though. This time I made it according to the recipe with one exception I had to substitute vanilla extract for rum (did't realize I was out of vanilla), but it ended up being very tasty. Next time when I make this cake I will slice it on 4 layers and add frosting in between 2 layers of cream cheese frosting. Also will add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This a perfectly fabulous cake. It was loved in my house and I highly recommend it and I wouldn't change a thing. I found the directions on making the frosting a little tedious but it turned out so well I don't care. It was ahuge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This cake was like a dream! My husband an I absolutely loved it. Words can not describe how lovely this cake was. But it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States