Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake is so moist. I took it to a poker party and everyone had more than one piece! The only down side was that there weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a competent cook and I followed this recipe to the T, but it did not come out well at all. The cake crumbled to bits long before I could even attempt to frost it. I think the problem is that the recipe only calls for one egg, which just isn't enough to bind the batter together properly. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thanks to this recipe, i am now dubbed the cake boss :) the flavor was so rich and the frosting..all i can say is yumm... this one stays in the book. i will make this cake probably 5 more times this year im sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. The only thing I did different was use semi-sweet chocolate chips and a different brand of sour cream. This is as close in texture as you can get to a boxed cake, very moist and tasty!! Thanks for the recipe. And I baked it in a bundt pan @ 325 for 43 min exactly. Colorado elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Oh wow, this is absolutely decadent! Wonderfully soft and moist, almost like devil's food cake. I made these into cupcakes (only baked for about 15 min) and the icing is almost too thick for such a delicate crumb. I think it would be hard to ice an actual cake but it was ok for cupcakes. 100x better then a mix and not hard to make at all! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
With reviews of typically all five stars....I still have to give this cake a 4.....Overall it was very good but we didn't care for the frosting too much...the cake itself was very good....this was my first cake I've ever made from scratch so who knows maybe I just need more practice....or different frosting recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This cake is SO good! I have made this cake twice and it was amazing both times! On the second cake I made a raspberry filling that complimented this cake so well! This is definitely my go to chocolate cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great recipe!I'm a terrible cook and this turned out sooo good. My whole family thought it was so moist and delicious.One thing though, my frosting came out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States