Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Tastykake
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was really an excellent chocolate cake! Delicious. Moist. Everyone who ate it loved it! The icing was a little thin, so it helped to keep mixing it for a long time. This also seemed to make a lot of icing. I used chocolate mild instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArcstrimE
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
An excellent cake with the flavors of sour cream and chocolate delicately blended into a moist but not-too-sweet cake. My favorite part was the sour cream frosting, oh-so-good. I would recommend not to take any shortcuts on melting the chocolate squares and not higher than 30-PRW in the microwave oven so that the chocolate won't burn. Yeah, it takes more than a couple minutes but at least it won't turn into two ounces of briquette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcstrimE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great cake! Perfectly moist - and I really love this frosting. It's different but so tasty. I made it for my son's birthday and everyone loved it. My husband knows I made this from scratch but had to ask if this is the one I made or if it was a box mix which baffled me (why would I make two, and why would I make a box one when I made one from scratch??) but he must have thought it was very like a boxed mix - very delicious & moist cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is the very best chocolate cake I have ever had and it stays moist several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever made. Super moist and the our cream in the icing cut the sweetness a bit and made it scrumptious!! Easy recipe and quite forgiving for novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This cake is so moist. I took it to a poker party and everyone had more than one piece! The only down side was that there weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a competent cook and I followed this recipe to the T, but it did not come out well at all. The cake crumbled to bits long before I could even attempt to frost it. I think the problem is that the recipe only calls for one egg, which just isn't enough to bind the batter together properly. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Thanks to this recipe, i am now dubbed the cake boss :) the flavor was so rich and the frosting..all i can say is yumm... this one stays in the book. i will make this cake probably 5 more times this year im sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. The only thing I did different was use semi-sweet chocolate chips and a different brand of sour cream. This is as close in texture as you can get to a boxed cake, very moist and tasty!! Thanks for the recipe. And I baked it in a bundt pan @ 325 for 43 min exactly. Colorado elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States