Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The frosting is AMAZING, delicious, try it!!! The cake on the other hand is not worth the try I always prefer the "Black Magic Cake" instead but with this amazing frosting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am not very good at baking, this cake recipe is wonderful. It was easy... it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Horse Show Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe. I have been experimenting with chocolate cake recipes to find one that my husband loved. This was hands down...his favorite. I did use a basic butter cream frosting rather than the chocolate. The only downside is the number of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I DIDN´T CARE FOR THE CAKE PART, BUT THE FROSTING IS SO GOOD. I HAD DOUBTS WHEN I START MIXING THE SUGAR POWDER WITH THE BUTTER, BECAUSE IT START TO LOOK LIKE CRUMBLES, I THOUGHT IT WAS TOO MUCH SUGAR, AND AFTER ALL, I DON´T LIKE SWEETS TO BE THAT SWEET, I REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF SUGAR, AND IT TURNS OUT GREAT. I RECOMMEND TO WHIP THE CREAM BEFORE ADDING IT TO THE BUTTER, IT MUST BE REALLY COLD, AS IF YOU MADE YOUR OWN WHIPPED CREAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
The best chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
this is THEE PERFECT chocolate cake recipe......nothing else needs to be said !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
OMGosh! This cake is AMAZING! I am the baker & chef in the family but after having ankle surgery (I have to spend 6 weeks in a cast non-weight bearing) I was craving chocolate cake. My husband offered to make on for me! Needless to say I was very apprehensive but I didn't want to discourage him. So, as I read him the directions step by step from my recliner in the livingroom, he attempted to bake this cake. I have to say, the result was one of the BEST, moistest, richest, melt-in-your mouth chocolate cakes I have ever eaten! He made it in a bundt pan and baked it for 50 minutes. It was incredible! My craving for chocolate was satisfied!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake was awesome! Moist and chocolatey, I made 2 cakes for my husband's birthday and this one was definately the winner! I did not make the chocolate frosting but instead made a vanilla buttercream. Terrific flavor cake and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Very rich...and the icing was silky smooth, which made the cake easyl to ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The cake was very easy to make, but it didn't come out as moist as I thought it would from reading all the reviews. Don't get me wrong, it was good. The icing was a bit runny....this could have been something I did wrong, but hey they ate it anyway. Not sure I would make again, but the taste is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States