Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful cake. Great body, chocolaty, moist. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was one of the best cakes I have ever made. Maybe I haven't looked hard enough, but I have never found a cake recipe that I like better than a cake-mix cake...until today. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted the chocolate frosting and made a cream cheese one instead (my husband's request- it was his birthday so I had to!). The cake was moist, and the flavor was outstanding. I did not have two 8 inch cake pans so I used 9 inch pans instead and cooked it for 25 minutes. It was great! The cream cheese frosting complemented the chocolate cake nicely, though next time I will definitely try the frosting as written because if it is anywhere near as good as the cake I'm sure I will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious cake! moist, sweet enough...divine..made some additions: 3/4 tsp instant coffee, pinch of salt and didn't use the icing on the recipe, instead used home made fudge....awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake is, indeed, wonderful. Time consuming, but definitely worth it. The only change I made was to use a cup of brewed coffee instead of a cup of water in the batter. I would make this moist, chocolaty cake again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This cake is amazing. Not really sweet than I suspected it would but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious cake! Some people complained about it being too crumbly, so I added an extra egg. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made cupcakes with this recipe and they turned out great! They were very light and moist and had a good chocolate flavor. It's more time consuming than box mix, but very well worth it! The only difference I made was lessening the granulated sugar by just a tad (maybe 1 tsp). I did this because a few reviews mentioned the cake being too sweet and since I used a buttercream frosting, I didn't want the sweetness to be overwhelming. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe was great! I added a little bit more sour cream to the batter, and instead of a layer cake I put it in a bunt-shape. It turned out amazing! The batter was smooth and creamy, and the cake turned out incredible. It was moist and delicious; not too sweet, and very chocolatey. I used half the sugar in the frosting, and it was perfect. I topped the cake with strawberries and chocolate shavings. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elijah Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made the cake and it turned out fine but the frosting was a nightmare. I attempted twice to make the frosting but both times it turned out completely lumpy and would not smooth out even with copious amounts of mixing. I sifted all the ingredients the second time thinking that the frosting was lumpy because of unsifted powdered sugar or cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This cake was not as chocolatey as I expected. There is a flat taste to it and I believe it is because of the massive amount of baking soda. The cake is moist. Tossing in a cup of semi-sweet morsels to the batter would help the flavor. The recipe calls for two 8 inch round pans but would be better in two 9 inch. There was too much batter for 8 inch pans so they came out with muffin tops. The baking time for me was over 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States