Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very delicious considering I used Rice beverage instead of milk, like in traditional pudding. Had no problems whats so ever with the cornstarch or cocoa clumping like others had posted. Perfect for my son who has so many food allergies, this was a excellent find! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Great recipe! My kiddos are lactose intolerant and making this with almond milk was a quick easy dessert for them. I also used 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/3 cup of sugar. Make sure and dissolve the cornstarch completely in the cold water, then whisk into the chocolate mixture slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
You need to mix all ingrediants in the pan before you start heating it to prevent lumps. This goes with all cornstarch pudding. No need to mix cornstarch with water first- I didn't even add the water, just wisk everything with the cold soymilk. I used chocolate soymilk, and 2T. cocoa, and agave nectar instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Contrary to what other reviewers are saying, this pudding is YUMMY!! The key that I've found is using a wisk to stir instead of a spoon. That will make sure there are no lumps! And I used lactaid milk instead of soy, but it came out very well. I'm definately going to use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was delicious. I only had Hersey's dark cocoa powder in the house but that worked well. It would have been even better with a premium cocoa. I did have a good quality bourbon vanilla extract and added 1/2 - 1 tsp Cinnamon to provide for more complex flavors. Recommended! Each spoonful was savored slowly. I also mixed the cornstarch in water, then added all to the blender before cooking to prevent lumps. My other modifications were to up the sugar to 1/3 cup (as others have suggested) and to add 3 - 4 Tbsp of Acacia soluble fiber. The fiber was added for digestibility alone as assimilated itself well into the mix. I will be making this my staple desert instead of half a bar of rich dark chocolate. Much less fat and much more digestible. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Great recipe, smooth and chocolatey. I made mine with vanilla almond milk and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
If you follow everyone's directions and mix the cornstarch with water until completely smooth before adding it to the chocolate soy milk mixture, I promise you there will be no lumps. Texture-wise the pudding was great, and it does thicken a great deal when it's cooling. I used 1/3 cup of raw sugar - if you're making vegan pudding, be aware that white sugar can be bleached with bone char. Unlike other reviewers I found 1/3 cup to be a tad too sweet, and I think the 1/4 cup in the recipe would have been enough, but I've lost my sweet tooth so if you're making this for little kids 1/3 would be a good idea. I didn't think it tasted like regular dairy pudding at all, but I really didn't expect it to, especially since I use pure soy milk and not those blended "beverages". Considering this is nothing more than soy milk, cornstarch, and cocoa, I'd say this makes a pretty decent pudding to satisfy a chocolate craving. Some other recipes recommend adding soy creamer, so I'm going to give those a try, but this basic recipe is so easy, so simple, and tasty enough that there's no point in complaining about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I used ALMOND MILK - not soy milk - despite all the marketing claiming how much "healthier" soy is, actually it's harder on our digestive systems, plus almond milk TASTES BETTER than any alternative (unless you're allergic of course). it was awesome, my kids ate this all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used fat-free vanilla almond milk instead of soy milk....delicious!!! Love that it makes two servings!!! My non-vegan husband asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I made a double batch, but used 1/4 cup sugar & it was still great. Tip: Heat water in the microwave before adding to cornstarch, use a whisk and mixing is so easy. This is so simple & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States