Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
My dad's first words: "Well, this is goodbye to store-bought pudding mixes!" He couldn't believe it was home-made! I tasted a lot of soy milk in the aftertaste but my vegan sister really felt that the chocolate came in strong, as did the rest of my siblings. I doubled the recipe and got 6 servings of the size we usually have. I wasn't too diligent about stirring constantly, but I don't think it mattered too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I had doubts....but not anymore. I used rice milk and it came out delicious. I added a little extra vanilla, used the recommended 1/3 cup sugar and it was fabulous. To prevent any clumps I mixed the cornstarch in the water first and then blended everything before heating....Smooth and Yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My milk allergic son really enjoyed this and the texture was the same as milk based pudding. I didn't taste it but if my picky 6 year old liked it, then its 5 stars for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
FANTASTIC! This is the best pudding! I used chocolate soy milk for added yumminess.(is that a word?) Perfect treat for the dairy free home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
First off, I would like to say that cooking with soy milk varies your results based on what brand you use. I've found that cooking with the Silk brand always leave me with food that taste of nothing but soy. So the problem may be your brand, not the recipe. (I used organic milk because i'm out of soy milk and this is the easiet pudding recipe I found.) That said, I gave this recipe four stars because I think it's a good start. I didn't add the extra sugar, but I did follow the advice of one reviewer and added some chocolate chips. I ended up with a very rich pudding. My husband said he thought it was bitter, but I didn't think so (we have different preferences on how much sugar we like). So if you're someone who likes more sugar, bump it up to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOMBIETRASH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Did not like the taste nor the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
About a year and a half ago I had to give up creamy cheesecakes, ice creams, and other dairy delights due to lactose intolerance. I am always on the lookout for soy-based replacements. This hit the spot. I followed a previous suggestion and added some cinnamon - however, did add too much (oops!), so be careful not to do the same! The texture was excellent, and I didn't have the patience to wait for the pudding to cool before digging in. I will try almond milk next time, since it is richer than either rice or soy. However, since I am used to soy milk, I didn't notice the soy flavor - I just think that almond milk might work even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
To adults it isn't very good, but our one year old daughter loved it. It is an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This recipe was VERY good. I always follow recipe measurements exactly as listed the first time. It would definitely work better with 1/3 cup sugar. Lightly pack the baking cocoa for a great chocolately taste, and stir it all using a whisk to help ensure a smooth texture. My daughter and I are ALLERGIC to MILK PROTEIN, which means that we can't even have some stuff marked as "lactose-free" (I prefer breathing). Kathleen, THANK YOU for providing a great recipe! This is quick, easy, and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Ok it doesn't taste exactly like the usual milk chocolate pudding but it's pretty darn good. I agree with previous reviewers that the texture is not a problem if you dissolve the cornstarch in water first and add it to the mixture before it boils. Secondly, to make it a bit sweeter, I used 1/3 cup suger instead. To give it more chocolate flavor, I added some (less than a quarter cup) of vegan chocolate chips. That last step gives is a rich chocolate flavor that cocoa lacks. I made it with rice milk instead of soy for my allergy kids and the texture was perfect. Rice milk lacks that strong soy taste that many are not fond of. Next time I might add a 1/2 tsp of vanilla instead of a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States