Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'm not sure what to rate this because the idea is there and it definitely tasted good while it was cooking but after cooling it was not sweet enough. I used almond milk instead of soy and it was smooth and looked great. I'll try this again and double the sugar and repost a review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
We thought this was delicious! I did modify it a bit (used ground choc. chips instead of cocoa pwdr, scraped a vanilla bean into the mixture before cooking, and added a pinch of salt), and also doubled it, but it was rich and creamy and the children, husband, and guests never guessed it was dairy-free! THanks Kathleen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANOLAGIRLTOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakemont, New York, USA
Living In: Little Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was delicious - thanks! I read over a lot of the postings beforehand, so I mixed together the dry ingredients first, before whisking in the wet ones, to avoid lumps. I also added 1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips for extra sweetness and chocolate flavor. Very good by itself or in a graham cracker pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very good considering I have attempted several dairy-free chocolate pudding recipes. This is one I would make again. Good consistency and very chocolatey tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Loved this recipe. I am not a vegan and I still used regular milk, but the flavor is good. I did mess up with the cornstartch (I don't usually use it) and the cocoa balled up some, but nothing a little sifting can't handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Quite good. It might be worth mentioning that I was able to make this in the microwave without issue (it saved the [minimal] effort of washing a saucepan). I just mixed all of the ingredients in a microwave-safe container and cooked on high for three minutes, stirring at the one and two minute marks, and then every twenty seconds or so until it had thickened fully. I fear I'll be making this with some regularity, from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The first time I made it I found the original recipe to be too thick and lumpy. So the 2nd time I reduced the cornstarch to 2 TBS and made sure that the cornstarch was completely dissovled in the water with no lumps before adding it to the milk. Then I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was soooo yummy, AFTER it was chilled. before it was chilled it was very bland so I definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge overnight. I added a couple tablespoons more sugar than it called for and added some dairy free chocolate chips because I think it lacked the chocolate flavor that I was craving, but that was a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutenfree mommy of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I REALLY enjoyed this pudding recipe and it was so simple! And vegan! I did increase the sugar to 1/3 cup and also added an 1/8 tsp of orange extract which gave the pudding a wonderful 'chocolate orange' flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I'm not a big fan. It was a bit too bitter for me and very very lumpy. I whisked it for a long while but the lumps just wouldn't go away! I'll keep looking for a different recipie. It's a good start at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States