Dairy Free Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Easy to make - tastes great! I did get some clumps in mine, but that was the cocoa powder I was using - still tasted great and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerri
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
PERFECT for our little 3-yo dairy-allergic chocoholic!! We don't do soy milk, but used a mix of Almond & Vance's DariFree 'milks'! Was REALLY good!! May try all Vance's DariFree 'milk' next time... We used the recommended 1/3c sugar & thoroughly whisked the cornstarch & water together! Gobbled up in a couple days! :) Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Just made this with vanilla almond milk. Set up wonderfully, tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was a terrific and easy recipe. It came together very easily. I followed the ingredients/directions exactly, but then thought the flavor could be 'kicked up a notch.' So, I stirred in some cinnamon, cayenne pepper, and some vegan chocolate chips. We ate the first batch when it was still slightly warm, and it was very good. But, the last container (which we ate the next night) was MUCH better. So, I would recommend waiting until the pudding is completely cold before eating. The added cayenne made the flavor almost like a Mexican hot chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
vanilla is listed as an ingredient but never mentioned again. I guessed at putting it in between the boiling and the thickening stage. More to the point, how do I tweek the taste so it is more "chocolately" than "cocoa-ey". Then finally would like an estimate for how much to prepare for an 9" pie. I multiplied the two servings of pudding by four (8 pie slices?) and ended up with way toooo much pudding. I liked (and followed) the suggestion to use rice milk rather than soymilk. And used half original flavor and half chocolate rice milk. But otherwise good and relatively easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and added a square of unsweetened bakers cholcolate because- why not? Make sure you mix the starch and cold water first... yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Chocolate pudding is my hubby's favorite dessert but since I found out I had a dairy intolerance several months ago we had to give it up. I was excited to see a veagn alternative with this recipe. I used chocolate soy milk to amp up the chocolate flavor. It was easy to make and the consistency was good once chilled but it just wasn't the same as dairy pudding. It wasn't very sweet and it was missing the creaminess. It was ok but not wonderful. I also think the recipe could have included how long to cook the pudding for once it started boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Added 6 packets of sweet and low instead of sugar and used low sugar soy milk. Next time used Almond milk, 1/2 cup Splenda and 2 oz melted unsweetened choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
One night I was craving some good comfort food - chocolate pudding! I've never made it from scratch, but I hoped I could find a recipe with ingredients I had on hand. This recipe is so easy and I was thoroughly impressed with how it turned out! Most cooks know to stir corn starch in cold water first, so as long as you stick to that rule it will turn out smooth and creamy. I'm already thinking of ways to add to it - peanut butter, white choco chips, it's endless... This will become a favorite of mine fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I didn't care for this. I didn't have any trouble with clumping, but it came out quite thick. Not a pudding consistency at all. The flavor was also lacking. Not chocolaty or sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States