Daffodil Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I LOVE THIS CAKE!!! It is so delicious and light and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
We have completely rewritten the directions to this recipe for clarity. Hopefully this will resolve problems experienced in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Well, this cake was a dismal failure for me. The flour/yolk/extract mixture was way too thick, and did not blend at all with the egg whites. (Was there some liquid missing?) I had to throw the whole mess away and have someone bring a store-brought dessert to Easter dinner. Guess I'll keep hunting for that perfect daffodil cake recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I had alot of trouble getting the yolks to blend well with the cake flour and then when I baked it, the yellow part of the cake was very dense and dry. The white part was very good (angel food consistency) and the cream cheese lemon frosting was delicious. We dipped strawberries in the extra frosty - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Not impressed at all.When you mix yolk mixture with whites, it doesn't blend well and is sort ot curdled.Is there some flour missing in the ingredients?I ended up throwing it out and making something else instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I am making this cake right now for Easter and I hope it turns out as great as it sounds. The recipe should mention when adding the egg whites to the flour and yolk mixture it turns out speckled with the egg and flour mixture or at least that's what happend for me. I hope that is what was supposed to happen. I've got my fingers crossed. Otherwise I can't wait to taste this cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
First, the Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting is wonderful. However, the cake itself was not thrilling to me. It was flat. Either I over beat the eggs or something but it was not fluffy. Second, I would recommend using a nonstick coating spray in the pan. Especially if you do not have a nonstick tube pan. It did not come out clean. In fact, it broke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2000
Great cake for spring birthdays! My husband really enjoyed it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
I loved this cake. It's just like a cake we used to buy at Easter-time at a local bakery that has since gone out of business. The lemon cream-cheese frosting was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States