Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was great! I let it sit for about 20/30 minutes to marinate. I used montreal steak seasoning and added salt. Very good, I will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
YUMMY!!!! I followed the recipe exactly; used NY strip steaks with pure organic maple syrup & a home-made seasoning salt (King's seasoning salt, available on here :) I mixed the salt, pepper and garlic together in a bowl before rubbing them on the steak. Paired our delicious, juicy steaks with sweet potato fries and a ranch salad; less than an hour from fridge to table and very minimal effort for a restaraunt quality meal! This was fantastic, very simple & will definitely be using this again soon!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar (:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Easy and fast. Great for those nights when we forgot to marinate ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy, delicious marinade that has become a staple at our house. You MUST use real maple syrup - if you try to alter the recipe by using pancake syrup, your meat will burn. I use this as a marinade - stab the steaks with a fork a few times and the flavor will flow right through. Perfect for grilling all kinds of steaks. The result is a tender, succulent morsel that almost melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
What a pleasant surprise this recipe turned out to be! Of course I didn't read the directions carefully and, instead of drizzling the steaks with the syrup first, I simply mixed all the ingredients in a bowl and rubbed that on the steaks. Still came out delicious! I added red pepper flakes for a bit of a kick but the rub would have been fabulous without it. I'm not a huge steak person but this recipe's a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
On our grill, 7 minutes per side was way too long. After about 5 minutes on the first side the steaks caught fire--likely from the maple syrup. They were black on that side. I'll try again with either a shorter grilling time or a not-so-hot grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
So simple and so VERRRRRY GOOD! My only tip, which has nothing to do with the recipe itself, but my grilling technique: I usually like my steaks super-seared on the outside (like burnt!) and medium rare on the inside. For this recipe, try not to go overboard with the searing. A normal amount of searing is okay, but it's much better if you don't go overboard with it--that way, you'll be able to better taste this delicious, flavorful rub. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was pretty good, but not to die for.. I was worried that the maple syrup would make it too sweet, but it didn't. The flavors complimented themselves. It's just not that exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was a quick and easy rub! Very tasty! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice rub...No change made to recipe. Only thing, I didn't have access to a BBQ (-15C), so I used the oven. Came out perfectly - tender, med-rare. Heat oven to 350F. On stove, a cast iron frying pan heated on high. Steaks seared both sides for 1.5-2 min, (each side). Then pan and all into the oven for aprox 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States