Dad's Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My husband LOVED this rub. He said it was quite possibly the best tasting piece of meat he's ever put in his mouth. We used it on flank steak and marinated it for 24 hours. Yum! Be sure to use real maple syrup. And to kick it up a notch, instead of black pepper, use something a little spicier like habanero powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I'm not a steak person and this really "beefed" up the taste. Nice flavor, tho it was a little strong. i think i will go lighter on the pepper next time. really really good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Amazing!! Thank-you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I changed the amounts a bit to meet my own tastes, but in general I liked the concept. I never would of thought to use maple syrup for a steak, but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
OK - I have to admit i was skeptical, but I just had this on NY Strip steaks and it was the best!! Highly recommend! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Fantastic! Loved this recipe! The flavor was great: sweet and smokey. My only change, I doubled the garlic (Oh, how I adore Garlic!). However, please realize that if you use this moist rub immediately after placing the steak on the grill, you cannot cook the steak past medium rare -- or medium, but that is pushing it. Remember, sugar burns easily. If you like a well done steak, DO NOT brush this on the steak until it is medium/medium well. Your results will be superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used this for a fathers day cookout (how fitting). I got great results from it. I applied it before grilling and liberally while cooking and the taste was fantastic. The sugars in the syrup made a great crust on the outside and the added flavors really enhanced the flavor of the sirloin steaks that I made. A few notes: Fresh ground black pepper is so accessible nowadays, and it really does make a difference in recipes like this, so do your self a favor and use it here. BUT, I have great faith in dried herbs and spices, if utilized properly. So I replaced fresh garlic cloves with garlic powder. I find that crushed or minced garlic cloves rarely add enough flavor to make any difference in grilling, and are just a hassle to apply effectively in recipes like this. Garlic powder integrates flavor into the sauce very easily, and there's no problems with evenness or application. Sure the flavor isn't of "Fresh" garlic, but the most important flavor is the steak anyway. (Garlic salt works well too, just be sure to omit some of the "seasoned salt" as well) Also, with this sauce, there's no such thing as too much. Only so much sauce is going stay on the meat as it is, and while it's cooking the sauce tends to roll off the meat anyway, so keep the steak well coated. I promise you that it's hard to over-do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banryu95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great flavoring made my beef steaks nice and juicy.I added roasted garlic and a bit more than called for but otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was not to my likingl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
OMG just made this tonight and it's soooooo gooood. A perfect mix. Used it on ribeye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States