Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Love the idea of recipe although after reading reviews; I didn't pre-cook fresh (washed/trimmed) green beans either (had about 3/4 lb). I used the ingredients listed but didn't really "measure" just eye-balled them. Did NOT use 3 tblsps of sesame oil as it's very strong in flavor. 1 tblsp was plenty. I cooked in my cast iron skillet that I pre-cooked 3 diced up bacon slices in earlier. (Removed bacon to toweling and drained off grease from pan.) Added a dollop of the sesame oil & reheated skillet. In went grn beans w/remaining ingredients & simmered all for about 15 minutes (covered), stirring often. If you have young thin beans lessen cook time. *plz don't cook garlic as written, it will turn bitter. I added it 1/2 way through cooking.* Lastly: I turned up the heat long enough to lighlty crisp beans a bit. (This also helps removes excess moisture from cooking covered.) Tossed the cooked bacon bits on top b4 serving. Nice flavor and easy even with slight modifications. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
our favorite way to make green beans now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Fantastic! I didn't have low sodium soy sauce on hand, but will definitely get it for the next time. It was a bit on the salty side. Oh, and i didn't steam the green beans first, just threw them in the pan at the same time i put the garlic in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very good! I used frozen french cut green beans instead, they worked fine. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe. I cooked them up in the frying pan without boiling them and they turned out really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I served this at a special dinner for my family and they simply raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Family loved them! Instead of balsamic vinegar, I just used red wine vinegar, since balsamic wasn't on sale! And I didn't have any sesame oil, so I just used some extra virgin olive oil instead. They were very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I loved the strong flavors of this recipe but my boyfriend thought the vinegar was too strong. Next time I'll probably cut back a little on the vinegar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were really good, easy & quick to make. I added a little less soy sauce and sprinkled some shredded parmesan on them after I removed them from the pan. Will definitely make again and look forward to trying this recipe with asparagus also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good. I have a microwave steamer so I steamed the beans while I mixed up the sauce.Two of us finished a pound of beans and I wish I had more to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States