Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it turned out perfectly. I will make these again and again especially since we get bombarded with green beans from our garden every summer. My kids even liked them. They took one bite and said, "Tastes like Chinese food." Must be the soy? Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
A little over powering with the sauce - but my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly, except I couldn't find the Balsamic Vinegar so I used the same amount of Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing instead. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I was looking for a new recipe for fresh green beans and this one looked good. The family loved the beans! The only change that I made was to used Splenda instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I was bored with my usual green beans with almonds, so I decided to try something different and made these. I'd never made Chinese-style green beans before. These were fabulous! And so simple to make. I used only 2 T. of soy sauce, and stirred the garlic directly into the sauce. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Whenever I go the chinese buffet they have the BEST string beans, the sauce on them is amazing. So I tried this one and the flavor was great but I overcooked it ALOT ooops kind of forgot I was cooking them. Next time I make I will make sure to keep watching them!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Delicious! Everyone said they liked them because they didn't taste like green beans!! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I didnt really care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Love the idea of recipe although after reading reviews; I didn't pre-cook fresh (washed/trimmed) green beans either (had about 3/4 lb). I used the ingredients listed but didn't really "measure" just eye-balled them. Did NOT use 3 tblsps of sesame oil as it's very strong in flavor. 1 tblsp was plenty. I cooked in my cast iron skillet that I pre-cooked 3 diced up bacon slices in earlier. (Removed bacon to toweling and drained off grease from pan.) Added a dollop of the sesame oil & reheated skillet. In went grn beans w/remaining ingredients & simmered all for about 15 minutes (covered), stirring often. If you have young thin beans lessen cook time. *plz don't cook garlic as written, it will turn bitter. I added it 1/2 way through cooking.* Lastly: I turned up the heat long enough to lighlty crisp beans a bit. (This also helps removes excess moisture from cooking covered.) Tossed the cooked bacon bits on top b4 serving. Nice flavor and easy even with slight modifications. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
our favorite way to make green beans now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States