Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I served this at a special dinner for my family and they simply raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Family loved them! Instead of balsamic vinegar, I just used red wine vinegar, since balsamic wasn't on sale! And I didn't have any sesame oil, so I just used some extra virgin olive oil instead. They were very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I loved the strong flavors of this recipe but my boyfriend thought the vinegar was too strong. Next time I'll probably cut back a little on the vinegar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were really good, easy & quick to make. I added a little less soy sauce and sprinkled some shredded parmesan on them after I removed them from the pan. Will definitely make again and look forward to trying this recipe with asparagus also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good. I have a microwave steamer so I steamed the beans while I mixed up the sauce.Two of us finished a pound of beans and I wish I had more to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as listed and it was a HUGE hit! Everyone, even the kids, loved this dish. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Delicious! Added a few red pepper flakes to kick it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENBOLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Easy and delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I'm a little leary about rating this, but I made these for Thanksgiving and it was not recieved very well by any of us. It just was not the right flavor for our meal in general. It had a very asian flavor to it which isn't a bad thing, just didn't go well with turkey and stuffing in our opinion. My balsalmic was also very rich so If I make again, I will cut down on that and I also used fresh green beans which I'd do again as well. It smelled really good but was so tangy that we could barely eat them. I'm glad I also made carrots, it pays to always make two of something just in case when entertaining for this very reason. I won't rule these out, I will give them another chance, just with a much different menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Sometimes rating a recipe is hard to do. This is one of those. I made the recipe EXACTLY as written (it's the only FAIR way to rate a recipe). It sounded wonderful, but we didn't care for the sweetness. This recipe resembles Asian Style Green Beans found in restaurants, and that's great – if that's what you're expecting. I served these with NY Strip Steaks, and the flavor just didn't mesh with the meal. Notwithstanding the clash in flavors with the rest of the meal, I am rating the recipe based on a stand-alone basis. The recipe was VERY easy. I felt that they were just a bit too sweet. I suggest that you measure the entire amount of sugar, but start with only half of it in the recipe, then after cooking for 8 minutes or so, taste and add the rest of the sugar, if you feel it is needed. Also, I think light brown sugar might be a better choice than white sugar (just an opinion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States