Dad's Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This was good! Out of personal preference, I omitted bean sprouts and green onions. Used only 1/2 tsp of red pepper powder, I didn't want to overkill the spiciness, although I couldn't taste the pepper at all, so maybe more is ok! I used 2 tbsp of fish sauce and 2 tbsp of soy sauce, and that worked better for me in terms of flavor. Next time I'll try adding some peanut butter too. I also added some cubed tofu, fish cake cut into strips, and used 2 eggs. The whole recipe took me about 45mins to make! I went from not very hungry to very hungry while making it. I also think that the serving size is a bit off... I had to use 8oz of noodles to feed four people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was great, I made a few adjustments to the cooking method but the flavors were good. I added shredded chicken but will try shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Nice recipe. Traditional pad thai is made with several hard to find ingredients, and I never thought ketchup would be a suitable substitute for some of these. Turns out it's a great sub. My tip: skip the boiling water for the noodles. Just put them in a bowl of very hot tap water while you prep the rest of the dish. They'll be perfectly al dente when you are ready to cook them. Boiling risks over-cooking the noodles which makes for a gummy mess of a dish. Also, fish sauce is crucial IMO. It may stink, but it adds a depth of flavor to the overall dish that you can't get with soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was SO good! I'm not sure why some people didn't like it. It really is restaurant-quality pad thai. Per other reviews, I substituted the fish sauce for soy sauce, added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, and doubled the sauce. You MUST double the sauce. The only criticism I have is that I was SLIGHTLY tangier than I thought it would be, so I think next time I'll just put less lime juice. I added chicken, just as a personal preference. This was super easy to make and my entire family loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
very good BUT needs some of those changes others suggested. It was too sour so I added more sweetener, almond butter (peanut allergies in my home) and some sesame oil too. Next time, I'll lessen the sour ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used this recipe for my first time making pad thai and it couldn't have went better! Easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
In my attempt to copy the best take-out pad thai ever, I made this recipe. The only major substitution I made was soy for the fish sauce, plus I added some peanut butter to the sauce. It turned out WAY BETTER than the take-out pad thai. NO MORE TAKE OUT FOR US!!!!! My kids even loved it, but I will back off the red pepper next time (family preference). I loved the spice, but it was a bit much for them. THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Pen
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's my favorite Pad Thai recipe! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very yummy dish made with many of the other reviewer's suggestions including adding chicken. Also added 1 T peanut butter to the sauce, a pinch extra sugar and cut the fish sauce with soy sauce (i used 1:1 soy sauce and fish sauce instead of 1 full 1/4 C fish sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Whew! I just made this and my lips are on fire. The amount of red pepper flakes sure does the job. I'm not sure how much I liked the whole brownsugar, lime and ketsup mixture, It was a little too much like BBQ (I didn't add fish sauce, I used gluten free soy instead) I think in the future I'll be looking for another recipe to use. Overall it tastes nothing like Pad Thai I've had at Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States